Michael Maguire announces wider New Zealand squad

Drew Darbyshire

New Zealand coach Michael Maguire has included Kevin Procter and Jesse Bromwich in his wider squad ahead of their Trans-Tasman showdown.

Kiwis boss Maguire has named New Zealand eligible players who are in the running to feature in the Trans-Tasman clash next month.

On October 13, the Kiwis, Kiwi Ferns and Junior Kiwis will come up against their Australian counterparts in a battle that will have the winner lift the Trans-Tasman Cup at Mt Smart Stadium, Auckland.

The triple-header marks the first time since 2014 that players from all three representative teams will get the opportunity to run out in front of a home crowd.

New Zealand star Adam Blair said pulling on the black and white jersey compares to nothing else.

He said: “I’d represent my country any day of the week.

“We love playing games here at home in front of our family and friends. To see the fans turn out and sing the national anthem alongside us is something special.”

New Zealand wider squad: Jamayne Isaako, Jordan Kahu, Kodi Nikorima (Brisbane Broncos), Jordan Rapana, Joseph Tapine (Canberra Raiders), Raymond Faitala-Mariner, Reimis Smith (Canterbury Bulldogs), Sosaia Feki (Cronulla Sharks), Kevin Proctor (Gold Coast Titans), Martin Taupau (Manly Sea Eagles), Nelson Asofa-Solomona, Jesse Bromwich, Kenny Bromwich, Jahrome Hughes, Brandon Smith (Melbourne Storm), Herman Ese’ese, Danny Levi (Newcastle Knights), Te Maire Martin (North Queensland Cowboys), James Fisher-Harris, Corey Harawira-Naera, Dallin Watene-Zelezniak, Dean Whare (Penrith Panthers), Leeson Ah Mau (St George Illawarra Dragons), Isaac Liu, Joseph Manu, Jared Waera-Hargreaves (Sydney Roosters), Gerard Beale, Adam Blair, Tohu Harris, Peta Hiku, Shaun Johnson, Issac Luke, Ken Maumalo, Isaiah Papali’i, Roger Tuivasa-Sheck (New Zealand Warriors), Esan Marsters (Wests Tigers).