McGoldrick in USA Elite Player Pool

James Gordon

Hull’s Ryan McGoldrick and former Hull KR forward Clint Newton have been named in an expanded USA Elite Player Pool ahead of next year’s World Cup.

McGoldrick, 31, qualifies for the USA through parentage, and played in last year’s win over Jamaica which secured their spot at the World Cup. He made his debut in qualifying for the 2008 World Cup, scoring a try in a defeat to Samoa which ultimately saw the Tomahawks miss out on a place in the competition.

In total, 95 players have been drafted into the pool, which also includes Parramatta’s Joseph Paulo.

Newton, now playing in the NRL with Penrith, was born in South Carolina while his father was competing in golf’s US Open in 1981.

American National Rugby League champions New York Knights have 15 players in the draft, which aims to bring together the best players available for the Tomahawks and preparing them for the World Cup in England, France, Ireland and Wales next autumn.

Head Coach Matt Elliott said: “I think the next process for us to enter into is to look at the dynamics of the squad. I think it’s vital to support the local element from the US to make sure there’s the right balance in the squad. This is so important.

“It would be completely absurd, in my opinion, if we stacked the squad with players from Australia, New Zealand and Britain because it completely negates the work that’s been done.

“Ultimately, it’s essential to get representation from each of the regions. This is only a personal opinion, but players coming out of the AMNRL has to be a priority.”

The Atlantic Conference of the AMNRL provides 55 of the players, while 21 players come from overseas. The Pacific Conference, now in its second season, serves up nine players from Hawaii and American Samoa and the remainder of the players come from the newly established Midwest, Southwest and West Conferences.

USA take on Canada in a two-game series for the Colonial Cup in September.



Fitzjames Adams (Knights), Joe Argueta (Knights), Luke Barron (Wildcats), Gareth Baxendale (Knights), Mike Brazill (Bulls), Kenny Britt (Bulls), James Carder (Knights), Mike Cartwright (Knights), Luke Collins (Bulls), Bryan Confer (Bulls), CJ Cortalano (Knights), Curtis Cunz (Wildcats), Akarika Dawn (Bulls), Phil Dorn (Eagles), John Dykeman (Knights), Ian Elliott (Knights), Todd Fisher (Knights), Ed Fua (Eagles), Gareth Gibbs (Wildcats), Phil Giuliano (Raiders), John Grace (Bulls), Wes Haughton (Bulls), Ben Hopson (Bulls), Luke Hume (Knights), Dan Johnson (Sharks), Pete Jordan (Knights), Andy Kneisly (Bulls), Cory Mayo (Bulls), Mike Murphy (Knights), Damien O’Malveney (Bulls), Zac Padgett (Sharks), Rob Ploth (Raiders), Apple Pope (Bulls), Matt Reilly (Raiders), Justin Ripley (Knights), Charlie Rizzo (Wildcats), Mike Romero (Sharks), Gio Roses (Wildcats), Pete Roses (Wildcats), Ben Sadgrove (Knights), Mike Schacter (Wildcats), Dennis Schmieler (Wildcats), Christian Seaman (Eagles), Phil Shipos (Sharks), Ryan Sodano (Sharks), Sean Taylor (Knights), Steve Thompson (Sharks), Salesi Tongamoa (Wildcats), Louis Tulio (Bulls), Dusten Umeda (Wildcats), Alejandro Valentin (Bulls), Freddy Vero (Raiders), Matt Walsh (Wildcats), Adam Wendland (Raiders), Kevin Wiggins (Bulls)


Conor Hadley (Storm), Eric Hunt (Storm), Kevin Hunt (Storm)


Tala Esera (Hawaii), Henry Leatio’o (American Samoa), Kelly McGill (Hawaii), Keiki Misipeka (American Samoa), Vai Natoa (Hawaii), Leonard Peters (Hawaii), Anthony Sunia (Hawaii), Loto Tagaloa (Hawaii), Mo Uitalia (Hawaii)


Brian Jensen (Utah), Josh Latu (Utah), Kali Tavake (Utah), Chance Williams (Utah)


Zane Hirtzel (California), Ika Ofa (California), Jack Tracy (California)


Cory Blair (Tweed Heads), Mark Cantoni (Pia), Tyrone Coppedge (Sunshine Coast), Kristian Freed (Sunshine Coast), Mike Filimona (Penrith), Michael Garvey (Ipswich), Danny Howard (Wentworthville), Steven Howard (Tuggeranong), David Marando (Belrose), Ryan McGoldrick (Hull FC), David Myles (Unattached), Clint Newton (Penrith), Mark Offerdahl (Carcassonne), Joseph Paulo (Parramatta), Kevin Pease (Burleigh), Matt Petersen (Gympie), Jayson Rego (Ipswich), Josh Rice (Ipswich), Tui Samoa (Redcliffe), Mitchell Stevens (Wynnum-Manly), Jared Stewart (Leeds)