McCormack expects young Scots to make strong claims

Scotland are approaching this year’s European Championship with coach Steve McCormack mulling over his options in the key playmaking positions.

While Danny Brough will lead the side from scrum-half, the stand-off, full-back and hooker roles will some young blood try to make a claim for the 2016 Four Nations squad.

Oscar Thomas of London Broncos looks set to partner Brough in the halves, after making his Scotland debut at full-back last year.

With Andrew Henderson and Ben Fisher retired, and Ian Henderson unavailable as he is moving back to Australia from Catalans Dragons, it looks as though Salford’s Liam Hood will play at 9.

The versatile Danny Addy of Bradford, who can operate in the pivot positions as well as the back row and centre, provides an option too.

The Scots open their campaign in Wrexham on Friday night with a clash with Wales, as they look to defend their European Championship title.

McCormack has named a 20-man squad, which will be trimmed to 19 and then 17 for the match itself.

“This squad just reflects how we tend to evolve over the years from one World Cup to another,” said McCormack.

“Players retire, get injured, need a rest – it’s the nature of international rugby league, especially with the games coming at the end of the club season. So every year we need to see who is coming through.

“It’s exciting, as there are a lot of young lads in this squad, most of them will play.

“I expect some of them are going to step up and really stake a claim for a place in our squad for next year’s Four Nations and the World Cup in 2017. The chance is there for them.”

Scotland 20-man squad:

Danny Addy (Bradford Bulls), Danny Brough (Huddersfield Giants), Harvey Burnett (unattached), Lewis Clarke (Edinburgh Eagles), Sonny Esslemont (Hull KR), Dale Ferguson (Bradford Bulls), Richard Harris (Warrington Wolves), Ben Hellewell (London Broncos), Liam Hood (Salford Red Devils), Ben Kavanagh (Widnes Vikings), Corbyn Kilday (Central Queensland Capras), Joe McLean (Gloucs All Golds), Scott Plumridge (Edinburgh Eagles), Craig Robertson* (Edinburgh Eagles), David Scott (Doncaster), Shane Toal (Barrow Raiders), Oscar Thomas (London Broncos), Alex Walker (London Broncos), Johnny Walker (Leigh Centurions), Adam Walker (Hull KR).

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.