Luke Keary headlines strong Ireland squad for the World Cup

Drew Darbyshire
Luke Keary Sydney Roosters NRL Ireland PA

Sydney Roosters star Luke Keary is among five NRL players included in the impressive Ireland squad for the World Cup.

Keary, who has previously played for birth nation Australia, qualifies to play for Ireland through his father.

The New South Wales Origin representative is joined by fellow NRL players Josh Cook (Bulldogs), Henry O’Kane (Tigers), James Hasson (Rabbitohs) and Jaimin Jolliffe (Titans) in the Ireland squad.

Nine members of Ged Corcoran’s side have previously played for Ireland. 15 players could make their first senior appearances for the Wolfhounds at the World Cup.

Hull KR powerhouse George King will captain the Irish side, which includes 2022 Super League Grand Finalists James Bentley and Richie Myler of Leeds. 2022 Challenge Cup winner Liam Byrne has been selected alongside his club team-mate James McDonnell.

WOLFHOUNDS: James Bentley hoping to do family proud with Ireland at World Cup

Huddersfield’s new recruit Harry Rushton, formerly of Canberra, will make his international bow for Ireland.

Halifax half-back Joe Keyes is one of the seven Championship players in Corcoran’s squad. The eight-time Ireland international was this year shortlisted for the Championship’s Player of the Year award.

Balbriggan-born Ronan Michael will feature in his first World Cup. In 2020, he became the first Irish-born player to feature in a Super League match since Brian Carney.

PASSION: “My mum cried” Frankie Halton describes his pride to represent Ireland

Ireland squad for World Cup:

James Bentley (Leeds)

Keanan Brand (Leigh)

Liam Byrne (Wigan)

Ed Chamberlain (Leigh)

Josh Cook (Canterbury Bulldogs)

Frankie Halton (Hull KR)

James Hasson (South Sydney Rabbitohs)

Jaimin Jolliffe (Gold Coast Titans)

Luke Keary (Sydney Roosters)

Joe Keyes (Halifax)

Toby King (Wigan, on loan from Warrington)

George King (Hull KR)

Ben Mathiou (Featherstone)

James McDonnell (Wigan)

Ronan Michael (York)

Robbie Mulhern (Warrington)

Richie Myler (Leeds)

Dan Norman (St Helens)

Henry O’Kane (Wests Tigers)

Harry Rushton (Huddersfield)

Innes Senior (Huddersfield)

Louis Senior (Hull KR)

Michael Ward (Batley)

Ireland are in a group alongside New Zealand, Lebanon and Jamaica.

The Wolfhounds get their World Cup campaign underway against Jamaica at Headingley on Sunday, October 16.

PODCASTPat Richards reflects on career, representing Ireland and life after league

FOLLOW: Keep up with all the latest on the Love Rugby League mobile app and podcast