Leigh Leopards 2023 squad numbers: Zak Hardaker to wear No. 1 shirt

Drew Darbyshire
Zak Hardaker Leeds Rhinos Leigh Leopards 2023 squad numbers

Photo: Allan McKenzie/SWpix

Leigh Leopards have confirmed their squad numbers for their return to Super League in 2023, with star signing Zak Hardaker getting the number one jersey.

The former Man of Steel has joined the newly-promoted Super League club on a two-year deal from Leeds.

Another player who has arrived at Leigh from Headingley is winger Tom Briscoe, who has been given the number two shirt.

Leigh have signed five players from Warrington ahead of next season – Matty Davis (18), Jacob Gannon (23), Oliver Holmes (16), Robbie Mulhern (10) and Jack Hughes (12).

Goal-kicking utility back Gareth O’Brien has joined the Leopards from Castleford. The half-back or full-back takes the number 17 jersey.

Young prop Nathan Wilde, who has joined Leigh from Newcastle Thunder, takes the number 25.

Leigh have given versatile back Umyla Hanley the number 26 jersey. The 20-year-old full-back or winger was on a train and trial deal with the Leopards back in December although his transfer from hometown club Wigan has not yet been confirmed by either club.

Former England international Josh Charnley will wear the number five shirt in 2023 after joining the club midway through last season from Warrington.

Edwin Ipape, who is the bookmakers’ favourite to win the 2023 Steve Prescott Man of Steel award, has been rewarded with Leigh’s number nine shirt after a tremendous 2022 season.

Ed Chamberlain and Keanan Brand, who were part of Ireland’s World Cup squad last year, will wear three and 20 respectively.

Captain Joe Mellor has been given the number six, with Lachlan Lam getting seven following an impressive World Cup campaign with Papua New Guinea.

John Asiata, who is an NRL Grand Final winner, will don the 13 jersey for Leigh this year.

Leigh Leopards 2023 squad numbers:

1. Zak Hardaker

2. Tom Briscoe

3. Ed Chamberlain

4. Ricky Leutele

5. Josh Charnley

6. Joe Mellor

7. Lachlan Lam

8. Tom Amone

9. Edwin Ipape

10. Robbie Mulhern

11. Joe Wardle

12. Jack Hughes

13. John Asiata

14. Ben Nakubuwai

15. Ben Reynolds

16. Oliver Holmes

17. Gareth O’Brien

18. Matty Davis

19. Aaron Smith

20. Keanan Brand

21. Jacob Jones

22. Tom Nisbet

23. Jacob Gannon

24. Kai O’Donnell

25. Nathan Wilde

26. Umyla Hanley

READ NEXT: Super League 2023 squad numbers: Club-by-club guide