July 22nd D-Day for Super League hopefuls

The line up of Super League in 2009 will be revealed on Tuesday July 22nd, when the 14 successful licence applicants will be announced.nnThe RFL confirmed the date for the biggest announcement in recent rugby league history, after a leak earlier this week.nnThey have confirmed that 14 teams will make up the top division in 2009, with the current 12 Super League clubs all expected to retain their places in the top division.nnSalford, Widnes and Celtic Crusaders are amongst the favourites to fill the remaining two vacancies, with Featherstone, Halifax, Leigh and Toulouse the other applicants.nnThe licence system will replace the promotion and relegation system, with the League reviewing the process in 2011.nnThe aim is to achieve consistency and continuity by giving clubs the chance to make long-term decisions in an effort to raise standards of the game in this country.nnThe criteria for licences will be based on stadium facilities, finance and business performance, commercial and marketing and playing strength, including junior production and development.nnThe strengths of each application are being assessed by a League team headed by in-house solicitor Rod Findlay, who will make recommendations to the RFL board of directors.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.