James Graham to captain Great Britain as he earns Golden Cap

Drew Darbyshire

James Graham will captain Great Britain as he earns his 50th cap on Saturday.

The 34-year-old is the only member of the current Lions squad to have previously played for Great Britain, having won his first five caps wearing the blue and red chevron in 2006-07.

Since then, he has earned a further 44 caps for England – meaning he will win his 50th international cap when they face Tonga this weekend.

Graham will become only the fourth British player in the history of rugby league to reach a half century – following Jim Sullivan, Mick Sullivan and Adrian Morley.

They were joined by the former New Zealand captain Ruben Wiki, and the Australian trio of Darren Lockyer, Cameron Smith and Petero Civoniceva – who also represented Fiji – as the seven players to be awarded Golden Caps by the Rugby League International Federation in recognition of their achievement in winning 50 international caps.

Graham is now set to become the eighth recipient of a Golden Cap.

More on site

2020 Super League kits

Featherstone deny Jarrod Sammut player-coach link

Team news: Australia v New Zealand (Fri)

Team news: Tonga v Great Britain (Sat)

Highlights: England Knights v Jamaica