Hull and Huddersfield name squads for round 1

Drew Darbyshire

Hull FC and Huddersfield Giants have named their 19-man squads for the opening round of the 2018 Betfred Super League season.

The game takes place on Thursday at the KCOM Stadium, 7:45pm kick-off.

USA star Bureta Faraimo and prop Mickey Paea are set to make their official debuts for Lee Radford’s Hull side.

Danny Houghton’s first competitive match as skipper of Hull will also be his 300th career but they will be without trio Carlos Tuimavave, Chris Green and Liam Watts due to injury.

Meanwhile, Giants head coach Rick Stone could hand forward Adam Walne his official debut.

Australian full-back Jake Mamo is set to play his first game since last June but captain Leroy Cudjoe, Alex Mellor, Shannon Wakeman and Tom Symonds are injured.

FC 19-man squad:

1 Jamie Shaul

2 Bureta Faraimo

4 Josh Griffin

5 Fetuli Talanoa

6 Albert Kelly

7 Marc Sneyd

8 Scott Taylor

9 Danny Houghton

11 Dean Hadley

12 Mark Minichiello

13 Josh Bowden

14 Jake Connor

16 Jordan Abdull

17 Danny Washbrook

20 Brad Fash

21 Sika Manu

23 Mickey Paea

25 Jansin Turgut

29 Masimbaashe Matongo

Giants 19-man squad:

1 Jake Mamo

2 Jermaine McGillvary

4 Jordan Turner

5 Aaron Murphy

6 Lee Gaskell

7 Danny Brough

8 Sebastine Ikahihifo

9 Kruise Leeming

12 Michael Lawrence

13 Ryan Hinchcliffe

14 Dale Ferguson

15 Jordan Rankin

16 Oliver Roberts

17 Ukuma Ta’ai

18 Paul Clough

19 Daniel Smith

20 Adam Walne

21 Adam O’Brien

23 Darnell McIntosh

Who do you think will come out on top? Let us know in the comments below.