Hull announced squad numbers


Peter Sharp has revealed the Hull FC squad numbers for the new season – with Paul Cooke handed the coveted number six jersey.Hull born Cooke has cemented his place in The Airlie Birds side as first choice stand off and he has been awarded the shirt along Richard Horne, who continues as seven.

Cooke will don the six jersey that was famously worn by Boulevard heroes such as David Topliss, Steve Evans, Gary Pearce and Greg Mackey.Austrailian Test winger Matt Sing who this week joined full-time training with the club will wear the new two shirt which had previously been worn by the retiring Nathan Blacklock.
Samoan prop Hutch Maiava will wear the number 21 shirt while Wayne Godwin, number 18, keeps the same shirt number from his time at Wigan Warriors. Hull FC's other arrivals, Danny Tickle and Willie Manu will wear 16 and 17 respectively.

Danny Washbrook will now wear the number 13 shirt traditionally associated with the loose forward spot that he has made his own.

Other changes will see Tommy Lee take up the 23 shirt, the number 20 jersey will be donned by Richard Whiting and Craig Hall will have 22 on his back.

Promising half back Anthony Thackeray has been given the 24 shirt and fellow youngsters Danny Houghton, Mike Burnett, Nathan Freer and Ross Divorty have all been given numbers for the first time.

Hull FC Head Coach, Peter Sharp, said: "Matty Sing will take up the number two shirt, he is a player I expect to bring a lot positives to the club in 2007. He has plenty of experience at the top levels of the game and he is still in great shape."

The numbers in full:

1. Shaun Briscoe
2. Matt Sing
3. Kirk Yeaman
4. Sid Domic
5. Gareth Raynor
6. Paul Cooke
7. Richard Horne
8. Ewan Dowes
9. Richard Swain
10. Garreth Carvell
11. Lee Radford
12. Shayne McMenemy
13. Danny Washbrook
14. Motu Tony
15. Paul King
16. Danny Tickle
17. Willie Manu
18. Wayne Godwin
19. Graeme Horne
20. Richard Whiting
21. Hutch Maiava
22. Craig Hall
23. Tommy Lee
24. Anthony Thackeray
25. Matty Dale
26. Scott Wheeldon
27. Danny Houghton
28. Mike Burnett
29. Nathan Freer
30. Ross Divorty