How Huddersfield are shaping up for 2022

Drew Darbyshire
Danny Levi, Chris Hill and Tui Lolohea will join Huddersfield ahead of 2022

Danny Levi, Chris Hill and Tui Lolohea will join Huddersfield ahead of 2022

Huddersfield Giants have 34 players in their first team squad for next season.

The Huddersfield Giants finished ninth in Super League in Ian Watson’s first season in charge at the John Smith’s Stadium.

Huddersfield have already made four new signings for 2022 in the shape of Chris Hill (Warrington), Danny Levi (Brisbane Broncos), Nathan Mason (Leigh) and Tui Lolohea (Salford). French half-back Theo Fages is also expected to join the club from St Helens.

Prop Sebastine Ikahihifo has returned to Huddersfield after spending the past two seasons on loan at Salford.

Huddersfield have recently announced that winger Louis Senior has signed a new deal, with the club waiting on a response from his twin brother Innes after making him a new contract offer.

Huddersfield coach Ian Watson said: “I’m very pleased with how we are shaping up ahead of what will be a pre-season start in mid to early November. We have a few spots yet to fill and the squad size as a whole will reflect the fact that we have a reserve squad next year.

“I envisage this will be predominantly full time but will also need to accommodate some younger part time players as we don’t want to be raiding our Under-18s academy side if at all possible.

“The market place for recruitment and retention is always a movable feast as things can change at clubs quite quickly at times, but as I say our sole aim is to be done and dusted in line for pre-season which every coach will tell you is a very important time.”

How Huddersfield Giants’ squad is shaping up for 2022

Jack Ashworth

Chester Butler

Jack Cogger

Leroy Cudjoe

Matty English

Ashton Golding

Joe Greenwood

Sam Hewitt

Chris Hill

Sebastine Ikahihifo

Josh Jones

Jon-Luke Kirby

Michael Lawrence

Ricky Leutele

Danny Levi

Tui Lolohea

Nathan Mason

Jermaine McGillvary

Aidan McGowan

Chris McQueen

Ronan Michael

Adam O’Brien

Will Pryce

Fenton Rogers

Oliver Roberts

George Roby

Kieran Rush

Olly Russell

Louis Senior

Robson Stevens

Owen Trout

Jake Wardle

Oliver Wilson

Luke Yates