Hodgson leads the Exiles


Brett Hodgson will captain the Exiles in the 2013 International Origin Match against England at The Halliwell Jones Stadium, Warrington, on Friday June 14. 

The Australian full-back is one of four Warrington Wolves players named in the squad for the fixture at The Halliwell Jones Stadium. Team-mates and fellow countrymen Joel and Michael Monaghan, and Trent Waterhouse are also included.  

St Helens also have four players in the squad, including Exiles ever-presents Willie Manu (Tonga) and Sia Soliola (Samoa). 

Hodgson led the Exiles to a 32-20 victory in the second of last year’s Origin series at Huddersfield  after England had won the opening match 18-10 at Langtree Park, St Helens

The Exiles is a wonderful concept, we have an exciting squad and it’s a great honour to be chosen as captain – especially in front of my home supporters,” said Hodgson. 

“There is no second game this year, so everything is riding on the one match. For players on either side it’s their only representative opportunity before the Rugby League World Cup, so I expect a very intense battle.   

“I really hope the Warrington public come out and support the match in huge numbers. It’s important that England are at their best at the World Cup, and they are going to have to be that to beat us.” 

The Exiles will be coached by former Leeds Rhinos and New Zealand Warriors coach Brian McClennan, who coached the Rhinos to Super League Grand Final success in 2008 and 2009. 

“I had a great time coaching the Exiles two years ago and I’m looking forward to replicating the spirit we had in camp in 2011,” said McClennan. 

Brett Hodgson brings a lot to the side on and off the field – his leadership and experience is going to be crucial for us.

“It’s a one-off match and we’re going to give it our best shot.” 

Tickets for the 2013 International Origin Game, England v Exiles at The Halliwell Jones Stadium, Warrington, are now on sale from the RFL Ticket Office on 0844 856 1113 and online at rugbyleaguetickets.co.uk Tickets can also be purchased from the The Halliwell Jones Stadium Ticket Office.

Exiles 27-man squad:  Louis Anderson (Catalan Dragons, New Zealand), Chris Bailey (London Broncos, Australia), Michael Dobson (Hull Kingston Rovers, Australia), David Faiumu (Huddersfield Giants, Samoa), Blake Green (Wigan Warriors, Australia), Rhys Hanbury (Widnes Vikings, Australia), Brett Hodgson (Warrington Wolves, Australia, Captain), Lance Hohaia (St Helens, New Zealand), Antonio Kaufusi (London Broncos, Tonga), Kylie Leuluai (Leeds Rhinos, Samoa), Heath L’Estrange (Bradford Bulls, Australia), Willie Manu (St Helens, Tonga), Manesi Manuokafo (Bradford Bulls, Tonga), Daryl Millard (Catalan Dragons, Fiji), Joel Monaghan (Warrington Wolves, Australia), Michael Monaghan (Warrington Wolves, Australia), Joel Moon (Leeds Rhinos, Australia), Mark O’Meley (Hull FC, Australia), Micky Paea (Hull Kingston Rovers, Tonga), Cory Patterson (Hull Kingston Rovers, Australia), Justin Poore (Wakefield Trinity Wildcats, Australia), Tony Puletua (St Helens, Samoa), Pat Richards (Wigan Warriors, Ireland), Jarrod Sammut (Bradford Bulls, Australia), Iosia Soliola (St Helens, Samoa), Zeb Taia (Catalan Dragons, Cook Islands) and Trent Waterhouse (Warrington Wolves, Australia).