Exiles name fresh 25-man squad


The Exiles have agreed not to pick more than three players from any club in order to reduce the risk of injury.

Wigan’s Thomas Leuluai broke his leg during the last International Origin match at Langtree Park. England agreed the same selection process as they named their squad on Wednesday.

The match against England will see the selected players have a short turnaround and recovery for the mid-week match, having played for their clubs the previous weekend of the match.

Exiles coach Daniel Anderson has called up 11 new faces to the Exiles camp following withdrawals and injuries to his players.

Anthony Gelling (Wigan), Ben Galea (Hull KR), Daniel Holdsworth (Salford), Heath L’Estrange (Bradford), Jake Webster (Hull KR), Jason Chan (Huddersfield), Joel Moon (Salford), Michael Robertson (London), Michael Dobson (Hull KR), Steve Menzies (Catalan) and Vince Mellars (Wakefield) have all been added to the Exiles camp.

Anderson is not delusional, and understands there may be further withdrawals ahead of the match on July 4.

He said: “It is conceivable that with the short turnaround from the games this weekend some players won’t be available. We’ve attempted to satisfy some of the requests from clubs in a difficult period. There are no more than three players from any club, which accounts for many of the changes from game one.

“Many of the more mature members of the squad have found it challenging on their bodies to get ready when faced with three games in seven days.”

Despite naming half a new squad, Anderson believes his side can still overcome England and draw the International Origin series.

He said: “I think the game will be exciting. England are one up so they may have more freedom to attack. Equally we have to win, so we’ll be going for it.”


Full Exiles 25-man squad

Anthony Gelling (Wigan)
Antonio Kaufusi (London)
Ben Galea (Hull KR)
Brett Hodgson (C) (Warrington)
Daniel Holdsworth (Salford)
Daryl Millard (Catalan)
David Faiumu (Huddersfield)
David Fa’alogo (Huddersfield)
Epalahame Lauaki (Wigan)
Francis Meli (St Helens)
Heath L’Estrange (Bradford)
Jake Webster (Hull KR)
Jason Chan (Huddersfield)
Joel Monaghan (Warrington)
Joel Moon (Salford)
Kylie Leuluai (Leeds)
Lance Hohaia (St Helens)
Michael Robertson (London)
Michael Dobson (Hull KR)
Scott Dureau (Catalan)
Sia Soliola (St Helens)
Steve Menzies (Catalan)
Trent Waterhouse (Warrington)
Vince Mellars (Wakefield)
Willie Manu (Hull FC)