Daryl Clark crowned Lance Todd trophy winner with 62% of votes

James Messenger

Daryl Clark became the third ever hooker to win the Lance Todd trophy as his stellar performance helped Warrington claim their ninth Challenge Cup title. 

The 26-year-old, on the losing side at Wembley on his previous three visits, was chosen as man-of-the-match by 21 of the 34 voters.

For the first time this year, the RFL published voting details on behalf of the Rugby League Writers and Broadcasters Association, whose members are given the responsibility of conducting the voting by the Red Devils’ Association on behalf of the Salford club.

The votes were collected and collated in a press box poll in the last 10 minutes of the match, allowing the result to be announced to the Wembley crowd.

Clark became the third hooker ever to win the award, following in the footsteps of former Wolves great Michael Monaghan in 2009 and Hull FC’s Tommy Harris, who collected the award 60 years earlier – despite being on the losing side against Wakefield.

Clark was 14 votes ahead of his nearest rival, Stefan Ratchford. Ben Murdoch-Masila was voted for three times and there was one each for Bryson Goodwin, Joe Philbin and Jack Hughes, while no St Helens players were put forward.

Final Lance Todd Trophy voting results:

Daryl Clark (Warrington Wolves) – 21 votes

Stefan Ratchford (Warrington Wolves) – 7 votes

Ben Murdoch-Masila (Warrington Wolves) – 3 votes

Joe Philbin (Warrington Wolves) – 1 vote

Jack Hughes (Warrington Wolves) – 1 vote

Bryson Goodwin (Warrington Wolves) – 1 vote

More on site

Featherstone sack Papua New Guinea international Thompson Teteh

Sunday Social: Challenge Cup Final special

Sheffield beat Widnes in inaugural 1895 Cup final – talking points & player ratings

BBC to broadcast Great Britain tour

RFL approve Bradford application for Dewsbury move for 2020 only