Cumbria crowned Rugby League 9s champions



Cumbria were crowned Rugby League 9s champions after a 16-10 win over Featherstone in the final.

Brett Carter’s last minute try sealed the win for the Cumbrian side, which also saw Carl Sice named as the Player of the Tournament after impressive displays against Wakefield and Leeds.

Featherstone made sure the final was an all-Championship affair after a shock win over Wigan, and a golden point victory against Hull KR in the quarter final and semi final respectively. 

Wigan had gone into the finals day as favourites to take home the title, after winning all 12 of their Western Division matches prior to their loss to Featherstone.

But the Warriors went home empty handed as they lost out to Warrington in their Plate Semi Final.

Last year’s champions Warrington, who defeated Cumbria in the final 12 months ago, were knocked out of the main competition by Hull KR. The Wolves went onto defeat Wigan before losing heavily in the Plate Final to Wakefield.

The Wildcats ran out 28-6 winners against the Wolves after losing to eventual winners Cumbria in the quarter final. Wakefield beat London Broncos in the Plate Semi Final, but the Broncos didn’t go home empty handed.

Omari Caro won the Rugby League’s Fastest Man race catching up to Leeds Rhinos’ Jamel Chisolm in the final metres of the race. Referee Thierry Alibert finished last.


Rugby League 9s Final Day

Quarter Final results:
Leeds 22-12 London
Wakefield 0-10 Cumbria
Warrington 8-14 Hull KR
Wigan 4-6 Featherstone

Plate Semi Final results:
London 4-18 Wakefield
Warrington 12-4 Wigan

Semi Final results:
Leeds 4-18 Cumbria
Hull KR 8-12 Featherstone (after extra time, golden point)

Plate Final result:
Wakefield 28-6 Warrington

Rugby league 9s Final result:
Cumbria 16-10 Featherstone