Cowboys sign four more


North Queensland Cowboys have cemented four new player deals that will see the 2011 squad taking shape, following the recent signings of Brent Tate and Ashton Sims.

Young back rower Dane Hogan has re-signed with the club for two years, capping a solid year in first grade after taking out the Cowboys’ Toyota Cup Player of the Year last season.

Front rower Isaak Ah Mau will stay with the Cowboys and brother Leeson for season 2011, signing a one-year deal.

Two new imports to the club’s squad are Dragons front rower Ricky Thorby and Blake Leary, leader of the Melbourne Storm Toyota Cup side, on a two-year deal.

25-year-old Thorby has been signed for two years, while Leary will leave Melbourne for North Queensland and an opportunity to make his first grade debut in Cowboys colours.

“I’m pleased that our latest signings have agreed to be part of the Cowboys future,” Cowboys Executive Director Peter Parr said today.

“They will bring considerable depth to our football team as we look to make 2011 an exciting year for the club.

“We are also very satisfied to have re-signed Dane Hogan and Isaak Ah Mau, who have proven themselves to be reliable, hard-working players who show great promise.”

Today’s announcement comes on the back of signing Tate, Sims, Antonio Winterstein, Kalifa Faifai Loa and Tariq Sims.