Contenders for 2019 Golden Boot award

Drew Darbyshire

The nominees for the 2019 Golden Boot award have been named.

The International Rugby League will be awarding the prestigious Golden Boot trophies to the players adjudged by a panel of media to have put in the best performances in full international matches in 2019 in both the men’s and the women’s games.

The winners will be announced once the final scheduled games for the year are complete.

Tonga has two players at the top of the current list with Sio Siua Taukeiaho and Tui Lolohea impressing in the Oceania Cup and Great Britain matches.

New Zealand pair Roger Tuivasa-Sheck and Jared Waerea-Hargreaves are also contenders, with Australian stars Damien Cook and Payne Haas nominated.

Great Britain only has one representative on the list after their disappointing start to the Lions tour – John Bateman.

Fiji trio Viliame Kikau, Kevin Naiqama and Brandon Wakeman all received enough votes to put them on the list.

In the women’s golden boot award, Australian Jillaroos pair Jess Sergis and Ali Brigginshaw have been nominated.

More on site

League 1 star returns to London Broncos

Tonga declare public holiday after beating Australia

Sheffield make two more additions

Manu Tuilagi unlikely to make cross-code switch to Toronto Wolfpack

Oldham duo pen new deals