Championships Team of the Week – August 4th

Premier Sports Performance of the Week – Barrow Raiders

Barrow Raiders gave their hopes of surviving relegation from the Kingstone Press Championship a significant boost with a 26-12 win over high-flying Halifax.

The win came in the absence of coach Darren Holt, who publicly revealed last week that he is undergoing treatment for cancer.

Caretaker coaches Phil Atkinson and Dean Marwood took charge and oversaw a win that lifts Barrow three points above the relegation places.

On-loan full-back Ben Hellewell scored twice, and Dean McGilvary, Liam Harrison and Liam Campbell also crossed, with hooker Nathan Mossop rewarded for his performance with a place in the Premier Sports Team of the Week.

Premier Sports Try of the Week – Dave McConnell (North Wales Crusaders)

Crusaders hooker Dave McConnell scored the match-winning try six minutes from time as North Wales secured a tense 24-20 win at Gateshead Thunder.

Thunder looked set for the points when Ricky Hough’s score had put them in front going into the final stages.

But McConnell stayed alert until the death, burrowing under three defenders from acting half-back to snatch a dramatic win that keeps North Wales in the title hunt.

Crusaders coach Clive Griffiths was relieved to get the points. He said: “If we’re going to get up into the next division, these are the games you have to win.”

Premier Sports Championship Team of the Week

1 Quentin Laulu-Togagae (Sheffield Eagles)

2 Rhys Williams (Swinton Lions)

3 Stuart Littler (Leigh Centurions)

4 Jimmy Keinhorst (Hunslet Hawks)

5 Dave Scott (Doncaster)

6 Aaron Brown (Dewsbury Rams)

7 Liam Finn (Featherstone Rovers)

8 Alex Rowe (Batley Bulldogs)

9 Nathan Mossop (Barrow Raiders)

10 Eddie Battye (Sheffield Eagles)

11 Andy Thornley (Leigh Centurions)

12 James Lockwood (Featherstone Rovers)

13 Ashley Lindsay (Batley Bulldogs)

Premier Sports Championship One Team of the Week

1. Richard Lepori (Oldham)

2. Rob Massam (North Wales Crusaders)

3. Danny Davies (Rochdale Hornets)

4. Josh Crowley (Oldham)

5. Omari Caro (Gateshead Thunder)

6. Chad Sharp (Hemel Stags)

7. Danny Yates (Rochdale Hornets)

8. James Howitt (Hemel Stags)

9. Ricky Hough (Gateshead Thunder)

10. Phil Joy (Oldham)

11. Sam Wellings (London Skolars)

12. Shane Grady (Hemel Stags)

13. Jono Smith (Crusaders)

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.