Canberra star Jack Wighton wins Dally M Medal

Drew Darbyshire

Canberra Raiders star Jack Wighton has won the Dally M Medal.

Wighton won the Dally M Medal after receiving 26 votes, while Parramatta Eels full-back Clint Gutherson (25) and Penrith Panthers half-back Nathan Cleary (24) came second and third in the voting system. Melbourne Storm hooker Cameron Smith rounded out the top four with 22 points.

The Panthers won six awards; Coach of the Year Ivan Cleary, Half-back of the Year Nathan Cleary, Prop of the Year James Fisher-Harris, Second-rower of the Year Viliame Kikau, Lock of the Year Isaah Yeo and Centre of the Year Stephen Crichton.

Penrith’s opponents for Sunday’s NRL Grand Final, Melbourne, won two awards – Winger of the Year Josh Addo-Carr and Hooker of the Year Cameron Smith.

New Zealand Warriors were honoured with the Provan-Summons Medal – the Spirit of the Game award. Roger Tuivasa-Sheck was awarded Captain of the Year and Tohu Harris Second-rower of the Year.

Wests Tigers hooker Harry Grant won Rookie of the Year and in the women’s game, Brisbane Broncos captain Ali Brigginshaw was named the Dally M Female Player of the Year.

Watch NRL and live stream every NRL game to keep up with how Tom Burgess, John Bateman, Ryan Sutton, Elliott Whitehead, Luke Thompson and George Williams and all the others are getting on Down Under.

Listen to The Final Hooter podcast, featuring exclusive interviews, every week. SUBSCRIBE to Love Rugby League on Apple Podcasts.