Ben Barba becomes second player in history to win both Man of Steel and Dally M Medal

Drew Darbyshire

Photo courtesy of Richard Long

St Helens star Ben Barba is only the second player in history to win both the Man of Steel and Dally M Medal.

Only Gavin Miller has won both awards previously and the 29-year-old, who will join North Queensland Cowboys for 2019, was presented with the award at the annual ceremony in Manchester on Monday. Barba won the Dally M Medal in 2012 while at Cronulla Sharks.

And for the first time, this year’s ceremony also saw a Woman of Steel – Georgia Roche, the 17-year-old Castleford Tigers playmaker who became the inaugural winner of the award.

Shaun Wane was named Coach of the Year after guiding Wigan Warriors to their fifth Grand Final in seven seasons – the first time he has won that award.

Warrington Wolves were named Club of the Year – not only for reaching both the Super League Grand Final and Challenge Cup final at Wembley, but for also for off-field efforts with emphasis on growing crowds, fan engagement and their work in the community.

Leeds Rhinos won the Foundation of the Year award following success for their women’s team, the launch of a women’s Under-19s team, the launch of a PDRL team, and a first victory in the Wheelchair Rugby League Grand Final in Kent.

Castleford’s 19-year-old half-back Jake Trueman was named Super League Young Player of the Year, and there were also individual awards for two of his Tigers team-mates: Paul McShane was Hit Man after making the most tackles, and Luke Gale was Top Gun for the best kicking percentage.

Barba added the Top Try Scorer award to the Man of Steel after scoring 28 times, and Wakefield Trinity’s centre Bill Tupou was the leading Metre Maker.

Full list of award winners:

Hit Man (Top tackler) – Paul McShane (Castleford Tigers)

Metre Maker – Bill Tupou (Wakefield Trinity)

Top Gun – Luke Gale (Castleford Tigers)

Top Try Scorer – Ben Barba (St Helens)

Foundation of the Year – Leeds Rhinos Foundation

Club of the Year – Warrington Wolves

Coach of the Year – Shaun Wane (Wigan Warriors)

Young Player of the Year – Jacob Trueman (Castleford Tigers)

Woman of Steel – Georgia Roche (Castleford Tigers)

Steve Prescott MBE Man of Steel – Ben Barba (St Helens)