Barcelona’s Nou Camp will be 69th ground to host a Super League match – full list

The iconic Nou Camp stadium in Barcelona will become the 69th stadium to host a Super League match at the weekend.

Challenge Cup holders Catalans take on Super League champions Wigan in what is set to break the record crowd for a regular season match.

It’s not the first time Super League has been played in Spain though – 10 years ago, Catalans took a game on the road to Estadi Olímpic Lluís Companys, losing 24-12 to Warrington in front of a crowd of 18,150.

Since its inception in 1996, a total of 22 clubs have played in the competition across 36 regular home venues.

Games were taken on the road in the early years, though the concept didn’t really catch on, but Wigan have takes games to London (The Den) and Australia (Wollongong) in recent years.

The Magic Weekend, which started in 2007, moves to its fifth venue next weekend when it is played at Anfield, which has already hosted regular Super League games involving St Helens before.

The list in full is below, including Old Trafford which has hosted every Grand Final since 1998.

Adams Park (Wycombe)
Anfield (Liverpool)
Belle Vue (Wakefield)
Boundary Park (Oldham)
Bramall Lane (Sheffield)
Brewery Field (Bridgend)
Brisbane Road (Leyton)
Cardiff Arms Park (Cardiff)
Central Park (Wigan)
Craven Park (Hull)
Derwent Park (Workington)
Don Valley Stadium (Sheffield)
DW Stadium (Wigan)
Ealing Trailfinders (Ealing)
Elland Road (Leeds)
Estadi Olímpic Lluís Companys (Barcelona)
Etihad Stadium (Manchester)
Gateshead International Stadium (Gateshead)
Griffin Park (Brentford)
Halliwell Jones Stadium (Warrington)
Halton Stadium (Widnes)
Headingley (Leeds)
Hilton Park (Leigh)
John Smith’s Stadium (Huddersfield)
KCOM Stadium (Hull)
Knowsley Road (St Helens)
Leigh Sports Village (Leigh)
Millennium Stadium (Cardiff)
Molesey Road (Esher)
Murrayfield (Edinburgh)
Oakwell (Barnsley
Odsal (Bradford)
Old Trafford (Manchester)
Parc des Sports et de l’Amitie (Narbonne)
Priestfield (Gillingham)
Racecourse Ground (Wrexham)
Rodney Parade (Newport)
AJ Bell Stadium (Salford)
Saltergate (Chesterfield)
Sixfields (Northampton)
St James’ Park (Newcastle)
Stade Aime Giral (Perpignan)
Stade d’Albert Domec (Carcassonne)
Stade de la Méditerranée (Beziers)
Stade de la Mosson (Montpellier)
Stade Ernest-Wallon (Toulouse)
Stade Gilbert Brutus (Perpignan)
Stade Saint-Michel (Canet)
Stade Sébastien Charléty (Paris)
Stade Yves-du-Manoir (Montpellier)
The Boulevard (Hull)
The Den (Millwall)
The Gnoll (Neath)
The Hive Stadium (Barnet)
The Shay (Halifax)
The Valley (Charlton)
The Willows (Salford)
Thrum Hall (Halifax
Totally Wicked Stadium (St Helens)
Twickenham Stoop (Harlequins)
Tynecastle (Edinburgh)
Valley Parade (Bradford)
Vetch Field (Swansea)
Watersheddings (Oldham)
Welford Road (Leicester)
Wheldon Road (Castleford)
Wilderspool (Warrington)
Wollongong Showground (Wollongong)

How many of the above have you been to? Let us know in the comments below and on social media @loverugbyleague

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.