Australia win Women’s Rugby League World Cup final

Josh McAllister
Australian Jillaroos win Women's Rugby League World Cup. PA Images.

Australia have won the Women’s Rugby League World Cup final with a 54-4 victory over New Zealand at Old Trafford. 

The delayed 2021 title sees them go back-to-back-to-back, having won the 2013 and 2017 tournaments and levels them with the Kiwi Ferns with a total of three titles.

Back-rower Jessica Sergis opened the scoring less than five minutes into the clash. The Sydney Roosters forward powering onto a short ball to crash here way through the Kiwi defence and score. Ali Brigginshaw converting the try for a 6-0 lead. 

New Zealand broke through soon after and had the chance to reply, but it was Australia who extended their lead on 14 minutes through Isabelle Kelly, and it was their game from then.

A well planned play saw Australia score their third on 26 minutes, with Julia Robinson touching down for her seventh try of the campaign. Brigginshaw kicking to the corner for the winger to chase, collect and score. 

26-year-old Sydney Roosters outside-back Kelly made it a brace just before half-time for a comfortable 20-0 lead at the break. 

HT: Australia 20-0 New Zealand

The Jillaroos continued with their dominance, with Emma Tonegato scoring before Sergis crossed for her second. 

Tarryn Aiken capped off a fine World Cup tournament with her fifth try of the World Cup on 56 minutes. The Brisbane Broncos half-back was revealed in the tournament’s Dream Team ahead of the final.

New Zealand did finally get on the scoreboard just after the hour mark. A fine team effort saw Madison Bartlett score in the corner for her second try of the tournament.

Australia’s Kennedy Cherrington soon after crossed for a quick-time double, before Evania Pelite scored her first of the afternoon and seventh of the tournament for a dominant 54-4 victory at the Theatre of Dreams.

Australia win Women’s Rugby League World Cup final 54-4

Australian Jillaroos: Bremner, Robinson, Sergis, Kelly, Pelite, Aiken, Brigginshaw, Mato, Davis, Cherrington, Clydsdale, Apps, Taufa. Bench: Brown, Tonegato, Bent, Johnston.

Tries: Sergis (2), Kelly (2), Robinson, Tonegato, Aiken, Cherrington (2), Pelite

Goals: Brigginshaw 3/6, Brown 4/4

Kiwi Ferns: Nicholls, Stephens Daly, Hufanga, P.McGregor, Bartlett, Roache, R.McGregor, Clark, Rota, Nu’uausala, Murdoch-Masila, Hall, Hale. Bench: Maynard, Hill-Moana, Pule, Stowers. 



More World Cup content

Inspire is one of our core team values: Australian Jillaroos making an impact in England

Watch: Samoa fans create crazy atmosphere ahead of World Cup final

“It’s been pretty crazy” – Stephen Crichton on Samoa’s World Cup journey to the top

FOLLOW: Keep up with all the latest on the Love Rugby League mobile app and podcast