Australia win Rugby League World Cup final over Samoa in front of 67,502 at Old Trafford

Josh McAllister
Australia win World Cup. News Images.

Australia claimed their 12th Rugby League World Cup title following a 30-10 victory over Samoa at Old Trafford, with a crowd of 67,502. 

The Kangaroos go back-to-back-to-back, having won the tournaments in both 2013 and 2017. It also completes a double for Australia in Manchester, with the Jillaroos claiming the Women’s World Cup title over New Zealand in the opening match.

The game completed the delayed 2021 World Cup, with the next one headed to France in 2025.

Australia ran in six tries, with captain James Tedesco claiming the man of the match award following his two-try performance.

Match report

Latrell Mitchell scored the game’s first on 13 minutes, his fourth of the tournament. The South Sydney Rabbitohs star smashing his way over, after Australia piled on the pressure with a length of the field break before forcing a goal-line drop-out.

Tedesco soon extended that advantage just four minutes later. The full-back supporting a break from winger Josh Addo-Carr to slide under the sticks. 

Liam Martin backed up his fine performance from the semi-final as he scored Australia’s third try of the final just before the 30 minute mark. The Penrith Panther back-rower’s third try of the tournament for a 14-0 lead at the break.

HT: Australia 14-0 Samoa

Angus Crichton was sent for 10 after striking Chanel Harris-Tavita with an elbow, ending his game early. It was also the 23-year-old’s final game before taking a break from the sport. 

Australia’s goal-line defence held strong with 12-men, and it was Mal Meninga’s side who actually scored despite the man disadvantage. Cameron Murray crossing for his fifth try of the World Cup. 

The biggest cheer of the evening came on 61 minutes, as Brian To’o scored Samoa’s first-ever World Cup final try thanks to some fine work from half-back Jarome Luai.

However, Australia soon regained their 20-point lead as Tedesco scored his second try of the World Cup final with a 26-6 score.

Samoa’s semi-final hero Stephen Crichton scored his side’s second, intercepting a pass from Ben Hunt to cross for his fourth of the tournament.

Mitchell capped off a fine team performance with his second try in the last minute of the game for a 30-10 victory.

Australia win Rugby League World Cup final with 30-10 win

Australia: Tedesco, Holmes, Wighton, Mitchell, Addo-Carr, Munster, Cleary, Trbojevic, Hunt, Campbell-Gillard, Martin, Crichton, Yeo. Bench: Grant, Carrigan, Murray, Fa’asuamaleaui.

Tries: Mitchell (2), Tedesco (2), Martin, Murray

Goals: Cleary 3/5 (last try not attempted)

Sin-bin: Crichton

Samoa: Suaalii, To’o, Crichton, Lafai, May, Luai, Milford, Hunt, Harris-Tavita, Paulo, Sao, Su’a, Kaufusi. Bench: Tuilagi, Papali’i, Leniu, Taupa’u. 

Tries: To’o, Crichton

Goals: Crichton 1/2

Attendance: 67,502

More World Cup content

Kevin Sinfield completes Ultra 7 in 7 Challenge raising more than £1.3m

Australia win Women’s Rugby League World Cup final

England win Wheelchair Rugby League World Cup

FOLLOW: Keep up with all the latest on the Love Rugby League mobile app and podcast