Australia name 13 uncapped players in World Cup squad

Drew Darbyshire
Tino Fa'asuamaleaui Australia PA

Australia coach Mal Meninga has included 13 uncapped players in his star-studded 24-man squad for this autumn’s World Cup.

Matt Burton (Bulldogs), Patrick Carrigan (Broncos), Nathan Cleary (Panthers), Lindsay Collins (Roosters), Reuben Cotter (Cowboys), Angus Crichton (Roosters), Tino Fa’asuamaleaui (Titans), Campbell Graham (Rabbitohs), Harry Grant (Storm), Liam Martin (Panthers), Jeremiah Nanai (Cowboys), Murray Taulagi (Cowboys) and Isaah Yeo (Panthers) could all make their first appearances for the Kangaroos.

Cameron Munster (Storm), Jake Trbojevic (Manly), Valentine Holmes (Cowboys), Ben Hunt (Dragons) and Reagan Campbell-Gillard (Eels) are the only players returning to Mal Meninga’s squad from their last World Cup success in 2017.

James Tedesco, who has played for Italy in the last two World Cups, has been named captain of the Kangaroos for this autumn’s tournament. Cameron Murray and Yeo are vice-captains.

It was thought that Rabbitohs centre Graham was going to represent his Scottish heritage at the World Cup before Australia came in for him.

World Cup winner Holmes considered representing his mother’s Cook Islander heritage at this year’s tournament, but has opted for the Green and Gold.

Australia squad for the World Cup:

Josh Addo-Carr (Canterbury Bulldogs)

Matt Burton (Canterbury Bulldogs)

Reagan Campbell-Gillard (Parramatta Eels)

Patrick Carrigan (Brisbane Broncos)

Daly Cherry-Evans (Manly Sea Eagles)

Nathan Cleary (Penrith Panthers)

Lindsay Collins (Sydney Roosters)

Reuben Cotter (North Queensland Cowboys)

Angus Crichton (Sydney Roosters)

Tini Fa’asuamaleaui (Gold Coast Titans)

Campbell Graham (South Sydney Rabbitohs)

Harry Grant (Melbourne Storm)

Valentine Holmes (North Queensland Cowboys)

Ben Hunt (St George Illawarra Dragons)

Liam Martin (Penrith Panthers)

Latrell Mitchell (South Sydney Rabbitohs)

Cameron Munster (Melbourne Storm)

Cameron Murray (Melbourne Storm)

Jeremiah Nanai (North Queensland Cowboys)

Murray Taulagi (North Queensland Cowboys)

James Tedesco (Sydney Roosters)

Jake Trbojevic (Manly Sea Eagles)

Jack Wighton (Canberra Raiders)

Isaah Yeo (Penrith Panthers)

Standby players:

Dylan Edwards (Penrith Panthers)

Nicho Hynes (Cronulla Sharks)

Damien Cook (South Sydney Rabbitohs)

Australia are in a group alongside Fiji, Italy and Scotland. The Kangaroos get their World Cup underway against Fiji at Headingley on Saturday, October 15.

PODCASTPat Richards reflects on career, representing Ireland and life after league

FOLLOW: Keep up with all the latest on the Love Rugby League mobile app and podcast