Andrew Johns named as eighth Immortal


Andrew Johns has been named as Rugby League Week’s eighth Immortal.

Johns joins an exclusive list of players who the Australian magazine deems worthy enough to join the list of exclusive names based on their playing ability alone.

The list of Immortals is held with high regard in the Australian game by the public.

Speaking at a ceremony in Sydney, Johns said he did not feel worthy to be named among that elite list of players.

He said: “This is without doubt the one of the special nights in my life. 

“I felt like I wasn’t worthy to be alongside these guys. I want to thank everyone in the game. The game has given everything to me.”

Johns retired from the sport after a series of injuries which culminated with a bulging disc in his neck. He played for Newcastle Knights from 1993 to 2007, representing New South Wales on 23 occasions and Australia 24 times.

In 2005 he had a well publicised three game stint with Warrington Wolves (pictured) which ended after a first round play off defeat to Hull FC.

Rugby League Week’s Immortals (includes year inducted)
Clive Chruchill (1981)
Bob Fulton (1981)
Reg Gasnier (1981)
Johnny Raper (1981)
Graeme Langlands (1999)
Wally Lewis (1999)
Arthur Beetson (2003)
Andrew Johns (2012)


Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.