All Stars line-ups named


The line-ups for next month’s Harvey Norman Rugby League All Stars match have been unveiled.

More than 37,000 fans voted across the NRL All Stars two-stage selection process to select a side that features 15 new faces from the 20-man squad that played in last year’s inaugural match.

Among the new faces are Wests Tigers back-rower Gareth Ellis, who takes his place in the NRL Allstars squad after missing last year’s clash due to the birth of his son.

Fellow Englishman Sam Burgess misses out however, after failing to recover from shoulder surgery in time for the February 12 match.

Indigenous All Stars coach Laurie Daley has named a strong squad featuring the likes of Jonathan Thurston, Scott Prince, Matt Bowen and Greg Bird.

Greg Inglis is a notable ommission through injury and he will be replaced by Melbourne’s Beau Champion.

A replacement for Sam Thaiday, who is currently nursing a groin injury, will be named later this week.

“The NRL All Stars team is a great representation of the talent within the NRL and I congratulate the fans for bringing this group together,” NRL Chief Executive, Mr David Gallop, said today.

“More than 51,000 votes were polled during the public selection process for the two teams and that is a reflection of how much the Harvey Norman Rugby League All Stars means to the game’s fans.

“Importantly, both teams will again be involved in a number of activities that celebrate the cultural diversity within Rugby League and highlight the game’s commitment to supporting Indigenous communities.”

NRL All Stars squad:

Josh DuganCanberra Raiders
Akuila Uate – Newcastle Knights
Michael JenningsPenrith Panthers
Jamie LyonManly Sea Eagles
Brett MorrisSt George Illawarra Dragons
Darren Lockyer (c) – Brisbane Broncos
Benji MarshallWests Tigers
Ben HannantBrisbane Broncos
Cameron SmithMelbourne Storm
Matthew Scott – North Queensland Cowboys
Nathan HindmarshParramatta Eels
Gareth EllisWests Tigers
Paul GallenCronulla Sharks
Dave Taylor – South Sydney Rabbitohs
Ashley HarrisonGold Coast Titans
Feleti MateoNew Zealand Warriors
Shaun Kenny-DowallSydney Roosters
Michael Ennis – Canterbury-Bankstown Bulldogs
Petero CivonicevaPenrith Panthers
Kurt Gidley Newcastle – Knights

Indigenous All Stars squad:

Preston Campbell (c) – Gold Coast Titans
Nathan MerrittSouth Sydney Rabbitohs
Willie Tonga North – Queensland Cowboys
Beau ChampionMelbourne Storm
Jharal Yow YehBrisbane Broncos
Scott PrinceGold Coast Titans
Johnathan Thurston – North Queensland Cowboys
Tom Learoyd-LahrsCanberra Raiders
Travis WaddellCanberra Raiders
George RoseManly Sea Eagles
Jamal Idris – Canterbury-Bankstown Bulldogs
Greg BirdGold Coast Titans
Ben Barba – Canterbury-Bankstown Bulldogs
Jamie SowardSt George Illawarra Dragons
Carl WebbParramatta Eels
Cory PatersonNewcastle Knights
Joel ThompsonCanberra Raiders
Ryan JamesGold Coast Titans
Matt Bowen – North Queensland Cowboys