2021 Rugby League World Cup semi-finals line-up confirmed

James Gordon

The 2021 Rugby League World Cup semi-finals are now locked in.

Reigning World Cup champions Australia will take on world number one New Zealand at Elland Road on Friday November 11.

Then on Saturday, England will face Samoa in a re-match of the tournament’s opening game on Saturday at the Emirates Stadium.

The winners of the two ties will then meet in the 2021 Rugby League World Cup final at Old Trafford on Saturday November 19.

MORE: England new second-favourites to win Rugby League World Cup

Samoa sealed their first ever World Cup semi-final by beating Tonga 20-18 at Warrington on Sunday.

Tonga had been fancied to challenge to win the tournament, while Samoa have been licking their wounds since their opening day trouncing by England in Newcastle.

Australia have been untested throughout the tournament, and still appeared to have multiple gears to go through in victory over Lebanon on Friday.

New Zealand were almost victims of a shock elimination for the second tournament running before recovering late on to beat Fiji 24-18 in a gripping quarter-final in Hull.

The Kangaroos remain the favourites to win the tournament.

The Wheelchair Rugby League World Cup will also reach its semi-final stage by the weekend.

England have already sealed their place in the final four thanks to their heavy win over Spain on Sunday.

They have one group game left, against Ireland. The top two from each of the two groups progress to play in the semis at the English Institute of Sport in Sheffield on Sunday November 13 (12pm and 2.30pm kick-off).

The women’s Rugby League World Cup semi-finals are due to take place at York Community Stadium on Monday November 14 (5pm and 7.30pm kick-off).

Friday November 11
Australia v New Zealand, Elland Road (7.30pm), BBC Two

Saturday November 12
England v Samoa, Emirates Stadium (2.30pm), BBC One

MORE: Tonga 18-20 Samoa: Samoa set up re-match with England in World Cup semis