2010 England Academy squad named

The initial 2010 England Academy squad has been named and includes 29 players from 10 different engage Super League clubs.

The Squad which includes six young players from Wigan Warriors and five from Leeds Rhinos features a number of names from recognisable Rugby League families including Bobby Goulding, Jack Briscoe, George Burgess and Ben Crooks, all of whom have famous fathers or brothers.

Bobby Goulding is the son of France coach Bobbie Goulding and Ben Crooks is the son of former Hull, Leeds, Castleford and Great Britain forward Lee Crooks. Jack Briscoe is the younger brother of Hull and England wing Tom Briscoe while George Burgess’s older brother is England forward Sam Burgess.

The squad will meet up throughout 2010 for coaching session and meetings run by the new full-time national development coach, a vacancy which is currently being advertised by the RFL.

BJ Mather, the RFL’s Head of Player Development said: “I would like to congratulate the initial 29 players that have been named in the England Academy Squad.

“This squad is by no means a closed  shop and over the next few months the RFL will be monitoring young players across the country to identify further talent.”

Following the appointment of the national development coach by the RFL players across the country will continue to be monitored and further additions will be identified to complete the squad which could potentially increase to a maximum of 40 players.

England Academy will play three fixtures in 2010, a match against France in June and two Tests against the Australian High Schools in December.

Squad (club, amateur club): Jack Briscoe (Hull FC, Featherstone Lions), Jordan Thompson (Castleford, Normanton), Jack Murphy (Wigan, Wigan St Judes), Darren Lamb (Huddersfield, Newsome Panthers), Ryan King (Wigan, Wigan St Patricks), Reece Lyne (Hull FC, Hull Isberg), George Elliott (Leeds, New Earswick), Tommy Makinson (St Helens, Wigan St Judes), Danny Cowling (Wakefield, Featherstone Lions), Ryan Shaw (Warrington, Barrow Island), Bobby Goulding (Warrington, Widnes St Maries), Sam Powell (Wigan, Wigan St Patricks), Cain Southernwood (Wakefield, Smawthorne Panthers), Kristian Bell (Hull KR, Oldham St Annes), George Burgess (Bradford, Dewsbury Moor), Tom Lillicrop (Bradford, Drighlington), Carl Forster (St Helens, Pilkington Rec’s), Brad Singleton (Leeds, Barrow Island), Danny Smith (Leeds, Castleford Lock Lane), Adam Milner (Castleford, Stanley Rangers), Liam Hood (Leeds, Bradford Dudley Hill), Adam O’Brien (Bradford, Siddal), James Laithewaite (Warrington, Crosfields), Ben Crooks (Hull FC, Castleford Lock Lane), Danny Bridge (Wigan, Oldham St Annes), Jared Stewart (Leeds, Egremont Rangers), James Donaldson (Bradford, Wath Brow), Greg Burke (Wigan, Ince Rose Bridge), Matthew Russell (Wigan, Ince Rose Bridge)

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.