Wigan Warriors reveal 2018 squad numbers

Wigan have revealed their squad numbers for the upcoming Super League season.

The most notable change sees Thomas Leuluai switch from number seven to nine, following the departure of Michael McIlorum.

Sam Powell comes in to take seven, while Tony Clubb takes eight.

New signing Dan Sarginson takes over the number three shirt, while Sam Tomkins retains the number one jersey.

Warriors executive director, Kris Radlinski, said: “The squad numbers give only an indication as to what positions players will play and key combinations are constantly being worked on in training, particularly in the “spine-of-the-team” key positions at fullback, halfback, hooker and loose forward.

“Tommy Leuluai is named at Number 9 in his international position of hooker and Sean O’Loughlin is captaining the side at Number 13 giving Wigan the base of a highly-experienced and capable spine plus the excitement of George Williams in the halves, determined to show England and Wigan fans exactly what he is capable of after a frustrating six months.

“The other halfback position will be taken either by Sam Tomkins or Sam Powell and fullback by Sam Tomkins or Morgan Escaré (after he achieves full fitness) with those decisions being taken by Shaun Wane and his team as the season develops.

“Consequently, Sam Powell is named with the Number 7 shirt, having proven over years to be an invaluable organising member of the squad, but may spend time at hooker.

“The blend of form, fitness and performance on the field will determine positions as the season develops but with a determination to play exciting rugby as well as being organised to win.

1. Sam Tomkins
2. Tom Davies
3. Dan Sarginson
4. Oliver Gildart
5. Joe Burgess
6. George Williams
7. Sam Powell
8. Tony Clubb
9. Thomas Leuluai
10. Ben Flower
11. Joel Tomkins
12. Liam Farrell
13. Sean O’Loughlin
14. John Bateman
15. Ryan Sutton
16. Frank-Paul Nuuausala
17. Taulima Tautai
18. Wigan Fans
19. Willie Isa
20. Morgan Escaré
21. Dom Manfredi
22. Liam Marshall
23. Josh Ganson
24. Jake Shorrocks
25. Romain Navarrete
26. Jack Wells
27. Callum Field
28. Liam Forsyth
29. Jack Higginson
30. Gabriel Hamlin
31. Joe Bretherton
32. Caine Barnes
33. Macauley Davies
34. Josh Woods
35. Oliver Partington
36. Samuel Kibula
37. James Worthington
38. Craig Mullen
39. Liam Paisley

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.