Stuart names “Blues in Waiting”

New South Wales coach Ricky Stuart has named a squad of 51 players who will be asked to attend a three day camp later this month.

All of the players included are considered to have the potential to represent New South Wales in the future and have been dubbed as “Blues in Waiting”.

Stuart, who was named as Blues coach in November, is eager to end Queensland’s dominance in the annual State of Origin series.

The former Australia coach said that the camp would make players aware of pathways for selection and educate them about the tradition and history of the State of Origin series.

“I am of firm belief that Origin victories are built on the culture and attitude of players and their desire to have respect for the NSW jumper,” he said.

“I am fully aware of the differences required for players to adapt to Origin football as compared to the weekly grind of the premiership and hopefully with these players we can make a difference at Origin time.

“Many of the players have progressed from very successful junior representative sides for New South Wales and into NRL teams and we believe they have the ability to progress further into senior Origin teams.

“One of the key messages for our “Blues in Waiting” squad members will be that all they can do is prepare and be ready for when this time arrives.”

The squad includes a mixture of established NRL first teamers and players from the Toyota Cup, the national under-20s competition.


Canterbury Bulldogs
Aiden Tolman
Jamal Idris
Josh Jackson
Kris Keating
Trent Hodkinson
Aidan Sezer
Josh Morris

Canberra Raiders
Blake Ferguson
Josh Dugan
Jarrod Croker
Josh McCrone
Alan Tongue
Joel Thompson
Drury Low

Cronulla Sharks
Luke Douglas
Kade Snowden
Albert Kelly
Stewart Mills
Nathan Gardner

Gold Coast Titans
Ryan James
Mark Minichiello
Kevin Gordon

Manly Sea Eagles
Tony Williams
William Hopoate

Melbourne Storm
Mitch Johnson
Dane Chisholm
Beau Champion

Newcastle Knights

Cory Paterson
Jarrod Mullen
Akuila Uate

North Queensland Cowboys
Tariq Sims

Parramatta Eels
Tim Mannah
Joel Reddy

Penrith Panthers

Tim Grant
Lachlan Coote

South Sydney Rabbitohs
Dylan Farrell
Nathan Merritt

St George Illawarra Dragons
Matt Prior
Jamie Soward
Cameron King

Sydney Roosters
Mitch Aubusson
Boyd Cordner
Kane Linnett
Joseph Leilua

Wests Tigers

Keith Galloway
Andrew Fifita
Aaron Woods
Simon Dwyer
Chris Heighington
Tim Moltzen
Blake Ayshford

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.