SL Preview: Wakefield v Salford (Fri)

Wakefield Trinity will be looking to build up a good run of form while Salford Red Devils need to bounce back from a heavy defeat last week.

Trinity eased past the newly-promoted Hull Kingston Rovers last week 28-6 at the KCOM Craven Park while the Red Devils suffered a heavy 40-12 defeat at home to Wigan Warriors.

A lot of people have high expectations of Wakefield this year, with some members of the media even tipping them to finish in the top four come the end of the regular season. So far, so good for them.

Not to forget a terrific hat-trick scored by Tom Johnstone. Could he get an England cap at the end of the year? Who knows, but it is certainly looking good for him right now.

The Red Devils didn’t play to their potential against the Warriors. Their second half showing was poor compared to their first and coach Ian Watson will be wanting to see a consistent performance this week.

The game takes place on Friday at The Mobile Rocket Stadium, 7:35pm kick-off.

Chris Chester has made just one change to his side that won at Hull KR last weekend, with Chris Annakin being replaced by Craig Huby, who returns from injury.

Watson could hand debuts to Derrell Olpherts and Ben Nakubuwai while Logan Tomkins will return after recovering from a small knock.  Greg Johnson and Mark Flanagan are not in the 19-man squad.

Wakefield 19-man squad: Arona, Ashurst, Caton-Brown, England, Fifita, Finn, Grix, Hampshire, Hirst, Horo, Huby, Johnstone, Jones-Bishop, Kirmond, Lyne, Miller, Pauli, Tupou, Wood.

Salford 19-man squad: O’Brien, Welham, Sa’u, Evalds, Lui, Littlejohn, Kopczak, Tomkins, Griffin, Jones, Hauraki, Tasi, Burgess, McCarthy, Nakubuwai, Wood, Olpherts, Mossop, Bibby.


Salford’s Craig Kopczak has scored a try in each of the Red Devils’ last three meetings with Wakefield.

Super League summary

Wakefield won 25

Salford won 15

2 draws

Wakefield highest score: 46-18 (H, 2004); 46-10 (A, 2013) (Widest margin: 46-10, A, 2013; 42-6, H, 2014)

Salford highest score: 48-10 (H, 2006) (also widest margin)

Who do you think will win this one? Let us know in the comments below.

1 Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.