Sheffield announce squad numbers for 2022 season

Ben Sheils

Championship side Sheffield have announced their squad numbers ahead of the 2022 season after a heavy turnover of players.

In total, 15 players have come in to Sheffield, while 18 have left the club in what has been a busy off-season.

Ben Jones-Bishop has taken the number two shirt after his arrival from York. He takes the shirt from the retired Rob Worrincy.

Meanwhile, Jason Bass, who followed Jones-Bishop to Sheffield, has taken the five shirt. Ryan Millar wore that shirt last year, but moved to Bradford in the off-season.

There is also a new face at number four. Ross Oakes, who signed from Bradford in the off-season, takes the shirt from James Glover, who went to York ahead of the 2022 season.

Stand-off Izaac Farrell has taken the number six shirt, having previously been 22 in 2021. That shirt will now be worn by Matty Chrimes, who has signed from Hunslet in League One.

Meanwhile, at eight is Brandon Douglas, who has signed from Doncaster. He takes the shirt from another play who retired at the end of 2021, in the form of Scott Wheeldon.

Also moving into a starting shirt is Tyler Dickinson. He wears the number 10 shirt, having been at 18 in 2021. His shirt will now be worn by Martyn Reilly, who has signed from Oldham.

Another new signing from Doncaster takes the 11 shirt, in the shape of Liam Johnson. He takes the shirt that previously belonged to Brad Knowles. He signed for Halifax ahead of the 2022 season.

There is also a change at 13 for Sheffield. Evan Hodgson takes the shirt after signing from Newcastle in the middle of the 2021 season. The shirt was left by Aaron Brown, who has signed for Widnes.

Plenty of changes at the Eagles

Vila Halafihi, who has followed in the footsteps of his father – Nick – in signing for the Eagles will play in the number 14 jersey. He takes the shirt from Greg Burns, who has signed for South Yorkshire neighbours Doncaster.

Mikey Wood is assigned number 15 after joining from Hunslet. He replaces Olly Davies, who has also signed for Widnes in the off-season.

Meanwhile, another high profile signing in the shape of centre Kris Welham will wear the number 19 shirt in 2022. He takes the shirt from Blake Broadbent, who has moved up to 16.

Another new signing from Oldham, Liam Kirk, will wear 17. Fellow new recruits Bayley Liu, Will Wallis and Kadeem Williams will be numbers 23, 24 and 25 respectively.

Ben Shiels rounds off the numbers. The Leeds academy graduate wears 26. Chris Ball, who wore the 26 shirt in 2021 was released by the club at the end of the 2021.

2022 Sheffield Squad Numbers

1 Josh Guzdek

2 Ben Jones-Bishop

3 Connor Bower

4 Ross Oakes

5 Jason Bass

6 Izaac Farrell

7 Anthony Thackeray

8 Brandon Douglas

9 James Davey

10 Tyler Dickinson

11 Liam Johnson

12 Joel Farrell

13 Evan Hodgson

14 Vila Halafihi

15 Mikey Wood

16 Blake Broadbent

17 Liam Kirk

18 Martyn Reilly

19 Kris Welham

20 Harry Tyson-Wilson

21 Ryan Johnson

22 Matty Chrimes

23 Bayley Liu

24 Will Wallis

25 Kadeem Williams

26 Ben Sheils

Read More: Anthony Thackeray to bring curtain down on career at end of season

About Steven Hughes 383 Articles
Love Rugby League writer.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.