Segeyaro and Albert to start for Papua New Guinea; Naiqama and Hayne to lead Fiji

The Papua New Guinea and Fiji squads have been announced ahead of Saturday’s Pacific Test.

Kumuls coach Michael Marum has selected a host of NRL stars to represent his side. Cronulla Sharks star James Segeyaro will captain the team, while Canterbury Bulldogs’ Rhyse Martin, Sydney Roosters’ Kurt Baptiste and St George Illawarra Dragons’ Nene MacDonald have also been named in the squad.

Ex-Widnes Vikings forward Stanton Albert is set to start for the Kumuls. Papua New Guinea Hunters players Thompson Teteh, Watson Boas, Ase Boas, Willie Minoga, Enoch Maki and Junior Rau have all been selected for the national team.

Fiji coach Matt Adamson has named a very strong team ahead of his first game in charge. Kevin Naiqama, who will make the switch from Wests Tigers to St Helens in 2019, will captain the Bati.

NRL stars Suliasi Vunivalu, Tyrone Phillips, Akuila Uate, Jarryd Hayne, Marcelo Montoya, Kane Evans, Eloni Vunakece, Tui Kamikamica and Sitiveni Moceidreke were also selected. Former London Broncos star Junior Roqica has been named in the squad as well.

The Pacific Test takes place at Campbelltown Sports Stadium on Saturday, 4pm kick-off (7am UK time).

Kumuls squad: Justin Olam, Junior Rau, Thompson Teteh, Willie Minoga, Richard Pandia, Lachlan Lam, Watson Boas, Stanton Albert, James Segeyaro, Luke Page, Rhyse Martin, Nixon Putt, Rod Griffin, Kurt Baptiste, Rhadley Brawa, Enock Maki, Ase Boas, Nene MacDonald.

Bati squad: Kevin Naiqama, Suliasi Vunivalu, Akuila Uate, Tyrone Phillips, Marcelo Montoya, Henry Raiwalui, Jarryd Hayne, Kane Evans, Joe Lovodua, Eloni Vunakece, King Vuniyayawa, Junior Salesi Fainga, Tui Kamikamica, Pio Seci, Sitiveni Moceidreke, Pio Sokobalavu, Junior Roqica.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.