Scotland name squad for Jamaica clash

The Scotland rugby league team have named their 20-man squad to face Jamaica this Sunday, October 24, at Featherstone.

Head coach Nathan Graham has named six uncapped players in his squad.

Salford’s Danny Addy, Sam Luckley and the incoming Ryan Brierley have all been included, as well as Wakefield’s 2022 signing Liam Hood.

Graham said: “The sessions have been great in terms of getting people together after a couple of years away from the international arena.

“It was tough to pick a squad of 20. But I am confident we have the personnel to perform well on Sunday. We have a lot of newcomers to the group and I’m looking forward to seeing what they can bring.”

Championship Our League entertainer of the year Lachlan Walmsley named

Graham has added versatile back Kieran Buchanan, Championship entertainer of the year Lachlan Walmsley, London Broncos hooker Rob Oakley and York prop Jack Teanby to his side.

There will also be a chance for former Under-20s Scottish rugby union cap Guy Graham to make his first full international appearance. Additionally, Scotland Under-19s and students player Charlie Emslie could achieve senior international honours having come through the Scotland rugby league pathway.

“It’s great to see someone like Charlie Emslie who has come all the way through the Scotland pathway,” added Graham.

“From Under-19s, through the students and on to the first team set up. He is a great example of what we are about and what can be achieved by young people committing to the process”

Squad: Danny Addy, Ryan Brierley, James Bell, Kieran Buchanan*, Davey Dixon, Charlie Emslie*, Dale Ferguson, Guy Graham*, Ben Hellewell, Liam Hood, Ben Kavanagh, Sam Luckley, Joe McClean, Kieran Moran, Will Oakes, Rob Oakley*, Jack Teanby*, Oscar Thomas, Alex Walker, Lachlan Walmsley*.

*uncapped players 

10 players miss out due to injury

Scotland have also confirmed 10 players unavailable due to injury, including Grand Final winning full-back Lachlan Coote.

Unavailable players: Lachlan Coote, Kane Linnett, Matty Russell, Lewis Tierney, Sam Herron, Lewis Clarke, Matt Hogg, David Scott, Brandon Wilkinson, Callum McLelland.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.