Rugby League Group reformed in new Parliament

The All-Party Parliamentary Rugby League Group held its inaugural meeting of the new Parliament on Tuesday June 2.

At the meeting, officers were eleccted and new MP supporters of rugby league welcomed to the group.

Lord Hoyle remains Group President, with the following officers elected:

Chairman: Greg Mulholland MP
Vice-Chairmen: David Mowat MP; Rt Hon Lindsay Hoyle MP; Jason McCartney MP
Secretary: Marie Rimmer MP
Treasurer: Lord Smith of Leigh

The Group’s Chairman, Leeds North West MP Greg Mulholland said: “I would like to thank my colleagues for returning me to the position of Chairman; with their ongoing support in the Group we will continue to go from strength to strength, and will become a more powerful voice in Westminster, Whitehall, and beyond. 

“There are a number of issues we will deal with immediately and I look forward to welcoming new MPs to the Group and seeing our non-Parliamentary members soon.”

Newly-elected Secretary, MP for St Helens South & Whiston, Marie Rimmer, said: “Before I entered Parliament, I knew about the Parliamentary Rugby League Group and its work. 

“As a season ticket holder at Saints,  I am very pleased to have been elected as Vice-Chairman and will work with officers and other colleagues to support rugby league in Parliament and across Westminster. 

“I encourage all colleagues with rugby league clubs in their constituencies to get involved, and as many people, clubs and organisations to join as Associate Members to strengthen rugby league’s voice.”

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.