New look for RL Conference National

Nine clubs will be gunning for Bramley’s Co-operative Rugby League Conference National title in 2010 in a new look competition on and off the field.

The Buffaloes defeated Huddersfield Underbank Rangers 38-22 in last season’s decider, staged at the Halliwell Jones Stadium, Warrington, their fourth successive appearance in the Grand Final.

The elite division at the top of RLC pyramid will see Kippax Knights join the ranks following their elevation after winning the Yorkshire Premier title in 2009, with Gateshead Storm moving to the North East competition and East Lancashire Lions taking a season’s sabbatical to secure a new home base.

In terms of the management of Rugby League’s fastest growing competition, which incorporates teams in England, Wales and Scotland, RFL Regional Manager for London & the South, Dan Steel, has taken on the lead role.

 “It is an exciting opportunity to work on the Management Board of the RLC” he said. “The competition has been a huge success story in the geographical expansion of the code, giving it an all-embracing, truly nationwide appeal.”

“RLC National looks set for another exciting year with the successful application of Kippax Knights to join while the RLC Premier and Regional competitions will see further, exciting expansion in 2010.”

RLC National will be an 18 round competition commencing on Saturday 17th April 2010 with the last of the regular season scheduled for the weekend of the 21/22 August 2010. A top six Play Off format will again be in operation, leading to the triple header Co-operative Grand Finals Day on 26th September.

Kippax official Dave Jessey cannot wait for battle to commence.

“We feel it is a great honour to be accepted into such a prestigious competition with such big name clubs” he commented. “It is testament to everyone here how far we have come in the short time we’ve been established.”

“There is definitely a buzz about the place going right through from officials to the coaching staff and players.  Hopefully we will be able to build on winning the RLC Yorkshire Premier Division last year and really compete. I don’t see why not given the fact that this is a rugby league town which has a great catchment area.”

Co-operative Rugby League Conference National 2010

Bramley Buffaloes
Featherstone Lions
Carlisle Centurions
Dewsbury Celtic
Hemel Stags
Huddersfield Underbank Rangers
Kippax Knights
Liverpool Buccaneers
Nottingham Outlaws
Warrington Wizards

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.