McIlorum and McCarthy-Scarsbrook named in Ireland World Cup squad

Drew Darbyshire

Micky McIlorum and Louie McCarthy-Scarsbrook are among some of the big names included in Mark Aston’s Ireland squad for the 2017 Rugby League World Cup.

Wigan Warriors hooker McIlorum represented Ireland at the 2008 World Cup and played for England in the 2013 tournament but will switch allegiance again this time around. Wigan teammate Jack Higginson will pull on the Green and White jersey for the first time.

The last time McCarthy-Scarsbrook played for the Three Lions was back in 2009 while St Helens teammate Kyle Amor has also been included in the squad.

Wakefield Trinity’s Liam Finn will captain the side with full-back Scott Grix being named as vice-captain. Trinity forward James Hasson has also been selected.

Betfred Super League Grand Final winner Brad Singleton has been named after having a stand-out year for the Leeds Rhinos.

It has been revealed that NRL star Issac Luke was going to play for Aston’s side but the paperwork wasn’t completed in time while South Sydney Rabbitohs teammate, Luke Keary, was also going to put his hand up but he had to rule himself out because he had to have hip surgery.

The Wolfhounds start the World Cup with a clash against Italy on Sunday 29 October.

Ireland 24-man squad: Liam Finn (Wakefield Trinity), Scott Grix (Wakefield Trinity), James Hasson (Wakefield Trinity), Kyle Amor (St Helens), Liam Kay (Toronto Wolfpack), Will Hope (Sheffield Eagles), Oliver Roberts (Huddersfield Giants), Ed Chamberlain (Widnes Vikings), George King (Warrington Wolves), Toby King (Warrington Wolves), Joe Keyes (Bradford Bulls), Joe Philbin (Warrington Wolves), Jack Higginson (Wigan Warriors), Anthony Mullally (Leeds Rhinos), Tyrone McCarthy (Salford Red Devils), Brad Singleton (Leeds Rhinos), Micky McIlorum (Wigan Warriors), Louie McCarthy-Scarsbrook (St Helens), Api Pewhairangi (London Broncos), Matty Hadden (Rochdale Hornets), Shannon McDonnell (Camden Rams), Casey Dunne (Longhorns), James Kelly (Sheffield Eagles), Alan McMahon (Waterford Vikings), Mikey Russell (Travelling Reserve – Coventry Bears).