Last Tackle Awards 2009

We may now be looking ahead to the new season, but the New Year period gave us a time to reflect on the 2009 campaign.

Our team each had their say to establish who had the biggest impact and who would be the deserved recipients of the 2009 Last Tackle Awards.

Coach of the Year: Nathan Brown
“In his first season in charge, he took a club that had, for a period of time, been proverbial outsiders to challengers with a third placed finish and also to the Challenge Cup Final at Wembley.” – Mark Fullilove
“This may be a controversial prediction but if Steve McNamara doesn’t find his feet very quickly this season, the Bulls will be sounding out Brown as his replacement.” – Greg Farrimond
(Other nominations: Kevin Walters)

Player of the Year: Brett Hodgson
“A key player in Huddersfield’s success. As just one example, his performance in the 24-14 cup semi-final win over Saints was incredible. Without him both the club and Super League would be worse off.” – Tony Williams
“Like many before him, he arrived in the country with great things expected of him. Few have lived up to the hype as emphatically as the former Wests Tigers man though.” – Thomas Coates
(Other nominations: Sam Burgess, Michael Dobson, James Graham, Adrian Morley, Sam Tomkins)

Young Player of the Year: Ryan Hall
“In his first season as a first-team regular at Headingley, and to score 29 tries and hardly put a foot wrong must be commended. Lightning speed, big defence and very solid under the high-ball, he must be the best winger in the competition on 2009’s showing.” – Matt Ireland
(Other nominations: Kyle Eastmond, Richie Myler, Sam Tomkins)

Club of the Year: Leeds Rhinos
“Winning their third consecutive Super League title, long dominating the regular season and becoming the benchmark for any aspiring challengers. Huddersfield came close, as did Hull KR and Wakefield.” – Mark Fullilove
“Apart from mid-season blip were always the dominant force throughout the season. Finished with the best attack and defence (points for and against wise) and capped it with League Leaders shield and third consecutive Grand Final win.” – Matt Ireland
(Other nominations: Barrow, Huddersfield, Wakefield, Warrington)

Team of the Year:
1. Brett Hodgson (Huddersfield)
2. Peter Fox (Hull KR)
3. Michael Shenton (Castleford)
4. Keith Senior (Leeds)
5. Ryan Hall (Leeds)
6. Sam Tomkins (Wigan)
7. Michael Dobson (Hull KR)
8. Jamie Peacock (Leeds)
9. Scott Moore (Huddersfield)
10. Adrian Morley (Warrington)
11. Sam Burgess (Bradford)
12. Ben Galea (Hull KR)
13. Kevin Sinfield (Leeds)

Do you agree with our selections? Who would make your team of the year, and who’s going to light up 2010?

Have your say below!

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.