John Bateman named in NRL Dally M Team of the Year

England forward John Bateman has been named the Dally M Second Rower of the Year in his first season in the NRL.

Bateman, 26, moved to Canberra from Wigan ahead of the 2019 campaign, and will be hoping to end his maiden campaign with a Grand Final victory against Sydney Roosters this weekend.

Roosters full-back James Tedesco won the 2019 Dally M Medal for player of the year, as well as earning himself a berth in the team of the year at full-back.

Melbourne’s Craig Bellamy was Coach of the Year, with veteran skipper Cameron Smith named captain and hooker of the year having become the first player to reach 400 NRL games.

The last Englishman to appear in the Dally M Team of the Year was Gareth Widdop, who was the best five-eighth in 2017, an award won in 2015 by current Warrington half-back Blake Austin, who is hoping to represent Great Britain this autumn.

In 2014, two Englishman received recognition, with Sam Burgess (lock) and James Graham (prop) both selected.

1 Trackback / Pingback

  1. John Bateman named in NRL Dally M Team of the Year - Sport News

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.