Injured Billy Slater named in Queensland squad

Injured Billy Slater has been named in Queensland’s squad for the final State of Origin match at Suncorp Stadium

He is expected to start the match at fullback despite picking up an injury in the second match at ANZ Stadium earlier this month.

Slater has not played since that second match of the series, after he injured his posterior cruciate ligament. 

He will undergo fitness tests this week to see if his knee can take the strain.

Queensland coach Mal Meninga praised the Melbourne medical staff for their help in getting the fullback fit.

He said: “At this stage, we’re very hopeful but uncertain. We can’t make any judgements on that. The Melbourne club has been extremely helpful. He’s desperate to play.”

Matt Bowen will return to the side after excellent form with North Queensland Cowboys, while Dane Neilson will play if Slater is unfit meaning Greg Inglis will move to fullback.

Queensland squad: Billy Slater, Darius Boyd, Justin Hodges, Greg Inglis, Brent Tate, Johnathan Thurston, Cooper Cronk, Matt Scott, Cameron Smith (c), Petero Civoniceva, Nate Myles, Sam Thaiday, Corey Parker.

Interchange: Ben Hannant, Ben Te’o, Dave Taylor, David Shillington, Matt Gillett, Matt Bowen, Dane Nielsen.

New South Wales squad: Brett Stewart, Brett Morris, Michael Jennings, Josh Morris, Jarryd Hayne, Todd Carney, Mitchell Pearce, Tim Grant, Robbie Farrah, James Tamou, Greg Bird, Glenn Stewart, Paul Gallen.

Interchange: Luke Lewis, Anthony Watmough, Tony Williams, Trent Merrin, Ben Creagh, Beau Scott.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.