Houghton grabs gongs at Hull awards

Danny Houghton has won the Supporters’ Player and Players’ Player of the Year at the end of season Hull FC awards.

Hull’s Wembley hero crowns a remarkable season having been named in the Super League Dream Team, winning the Challenge Cup and winning the Man of Steel award.

Houghton won the Supporters’ Player of the Year by a landslide with 69% of the votes in an online poll, and was very popular amongst the votes for Players’ Player of the Year prize.

Although Houghton secured a brace, halfback Marc Sneyd was named as the Player of the Year following a successful season for the former Salford man.

Sneyd, who’s booted 110 goals in Super League, won the Top Gun award at the Man of Steel dinner a couple of weeks ago for the kicker with the highest conversion rate of 83%.

Young Player of the Year went to centre Mahe Fonua following a great first year in England for the 23-year old since joining from Melbourne Storm in the NRL.

Fonua, who was also named in the Dream Team, has been a welcomed addition to the team, striking up a solid partnership with winger Steve Michaels.

Mike Adlard picked up the Reserve team Player of the Year after his terrific contribution to Richard Horne’s side and the City of Hull Academy this year, chipping in with plenty of tries.

Leon Pryce, Iafeta Palea’aesina and Kirk Yeaman were all given outstanding achievement awards for their contributions for the Airlie Birds as they embark on new chapters.

Pryce returns to his hometown club Bradford Bulls next year whilst Yeaman will hang up his boots on his glittering 16-year career.

Paul Hatton, Head of High Performance, was recognised for his off-field work with the team by winning the Clubman of the Year award.

Hatton, who joined from Hull Kingston Rovers in the off-season, has played a huge part in the team’s fitness this year along with limiting the number of injuries.

Alan James won the Team FC Volunteer of the Year for his brilliant commitment to the volunteers, being more or less ever-present.

The full list of the awards winners:

Team FC Volunteer of the Year: Alan James

Clubman of the Year: Paul Hatton

Reserve Team Player of the Year: Mike Adlard

Try of the Season: Mahe Fonua vs Wakefield in the Super 8s

Young Player of the Year: Mahe Fonua

Supporters’ Player of the Year: Danny Houghton

Players’ Player of the Year: Danny Houghton

Player of the Year: Marc Sneyd

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.