Hardaker crowned 2015 Steve Prescott Man of Steel

Leeds full-back Zak Hardaker has been named the 2015 Steve Prescott MBE Man of Steel.

The 23-year-old beat off competition from team-mate Adam Cuthbertson and St Helens prop Alex Walmsley to pick up the award at the annual Man of Steel dinner at Old Trafford cricket ground.

Hardaker secured the award following a two-part selection process incorporating a ballot of every Super League player before the final decision was made by specially convened five-man Man of Steel Selection Panel.

He won the Young Player of the Year award in 2012, and that award went to Wigan stand-off George Williams.

Retiring Super League players Garreth Carvell (293 appearances), Ade Gardner (266), Lee Gilmour (407), Wayne Godwin (235), Kylie Leuluai (225), Adrian Morley (316), Jamie Peacock MBE (436), Kevin Sinfield MBE (452), Chev Walker (258) and Paul Wellens (439) were also presented with Outstanding Contribution Awards to mark their long service to the competition having made over 200 Super League appearances.

The award winners in full from the 2015 First Utility Super League Man of Steel awards are as follows:

Hit man – Danny Houghton (Hull FC) – 1,359 tackles

Top metre maker – Alex Walmsley (St Helens) – 4,092 metres

Top try-scorer – Jermaine McGillvary (Huddersfield Giants) – 27 tries

Top Gun – Kevin Sinfield (Leeds Rhinos) – 85.37 percent

Outstanding Contribution – Garreth Carvell, Ade Gardnet, Lee Gilmour, Wayne Godwin, Kylie Leuluai, Adrian Morley, Jamie Peacock, Kevin Sinfield, Chev Walker, Paul Wellens.

Foundation of the Year – Warrington Wolves

First Utility Super League Club of the Year – Leeds Rhinos

First Utility Super League Young Player of the Year – George Williams (Wigan Warriors)

First Utility Super League Coach of the Year – Brian McDermott (Leeds Rhinos)


The Steve Prescott MBE Man of Steel – Zak Hardaker (Leeds Rhinos)

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.