Four debutants for England against Combined Nations All Stars

Shaun Wane England World Cup SWpix
Photo: Allan McKenzie/SWpix

England coach Shaun Wane will give debuts to four players when they take on the Combined Nations All Stars in Warrington on Saturday.

Jake Wardle (Huddersfield) and Joe Batchelor, Matty Lees and Jack Welsby (all St Helens) will pull on the England senior shirt for the first time in tomorrow’s mid-season match against the Combined Nations All Stars (5:45pm).

Wane has recalled four players with World Cup experience – Ryan Hall, Micky McIlorum, Mike McMeeken and Kallum Watkins.

MCILORUM: Catalans hooker ‘surprised’ by England recall

Nine Super League clubs are represented in the England team to face the All Stars. England’s NRL-based players were unavailable for selection.


World Cup starts now, says England coach Shaun Wane

Wane said: “This is the start of the World Cup as far as I’m concerned. This game is as important as the Fiji game, which is just before the World Cup starts.

“First and foremost, I want to win. Ellery (Hanley) will have his team very motivated and we need to be better than them. It’s simple.

“I’ve picked a group of players who in my heart I know can do the job. Some are new to the set up; others like Ryan Hall are very experienced and are still performing at a high level.

“I’ve made the call on George Williams who, on his day, is one of the best in the world. If it doesn’t work out, it’s on me as head coach.

“Our preparation has been excellent, the players have been superb in training and there’s a good spirit in camp.”

England team to face Combined Nations All Stars:

1. Sam Tomkins (Catalans)

2. Tommy Makinson (St Helens)

3. Kallum Watkins (Salford)

4. Jake Wardle (Huddersfield)

5. Ryan Hall (Hull KR)

6. Jack Welsby (St Helens)

7. George Williams (Warrington)

8. Alex Walmsley (St Helens)

9. Micky McIlorum (Catalans)

10. Mike Cooper (Warrington)

11. Liam Farrell (Wigan)

12. Mike McMeeken (Catalans)

13. John Bateman (Wigan)


14. Paul McShane (Castleford)

15. Joe Batchelor (St Helens)

16. Matty Lees (St Helens)

17. Mikolaj Oledzki (Leeds)

LINKTREE: Love Rugby League website, podcast, app & Fantasy RL

About Drew Darbyshire 8027 Articles
Love Rugby League Deputy Editor. Joined the site ahead of the 2017 World Cup and been a full-time reporter since 2018.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.