Dragons trio in Australia squad

Premiership winning St George players Darius Boyd, Brett Morris and Dean Young have been named in a strong Australia squad for the upcoming Four Nations.

The trio, who all starred in Sunday’s 32-8 Grand Final defeat of the Sydney Roosters, have been named in a 24-man squad named by league chairman Colin Love.

Other notable inclusions are Dally M medal-winning Roosters five-eighth Todd Carney, Canberra pairing David Shillington and Tom Learoyd-Lahrs and Wests winger Chris Lawrence.

Carney’s fitness may be in doubt after he suffered a knee injury in the Grand Final but Johnathan Thurston has been ruled altogether due to an ankle problem.

Melbourne trio Billy Slater, Cooper Cronk and Cameron Smith retain their place while North Queensland prop Matt Scott could make his Kangaroos debut after his inclusion.

Despite missing the finals series with Parramatta Jarryd Hayne features, as does the Cowboys’ Willie Tonga and Gold Coast back-rower Greg Bird.

Experienced Penrith pairing Petero Civoniceva and Luke Lewis return to the fold while Wests Tigers skipper Robbie Farah will be hoping to improve upon his two caps won in 2009.

The evergreen Darren Lockyer will skipper the squad.

Australia squad for Four Nations:

Darren Lockyer (c)
Sam Thaiday
Tom Learoyd-Lahrs
David Shillington
Paul Gallen
Greg Bird
Anthony Watmough
Cooper Cronk
Billy Slater
Cameron Smith
Kurt Gidley
Matthew Scott
Willie Tonga
Jarryd Hayne
Petero Civoniceva
Luke Lewis
Darius Boyd
Brett Morris
Dean Young
Todd Carney
Nate Myles
Brent Tate
Robbie Farah
Chris Lawrence

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.