Championships Team of the Week – August 18th

Premier Sports Performance of the Week – Gateshead Thunder

Gateshead’s dramatic 36-34 win at Gloucestershire All Golds guarantees Thunder will avoid the wooden spoon for the first time in four years.

Thunder coach Kevin Neighbour said: “I was elated with the result and it’s another pat on the backs for the lads.

“It’s taken a long time, but there’s a belief among them now. We’ve nearly beaten North Wales and we went close against Rochdale.

“If we win our next game we’ll miss out on the play-offs by a point. We’ve really enjoyed the last few weeks.”

Premier Sports Try of the Week – Benn Hardcastle (Gateshead Thunder)

Thunder trailed 34-30 against Gloucestershire All Golds after Curtis Cunningham’s 77th-minute try, before Gateshead reclaimed possession from the restart and Benn Hardcastle struck at the death.

Gateshead coach Kevin Neighbour said: “I actually missed Benn’s try because I couldn’t watch the game any more. When the All Golds had scored I was pretty broken.

“I still had an inkling something was going to happen, and when we got the ball back from a short kick off I turned around and said to my assistant: ‘I can’t watch’.

“Having seen it now on video, Benn’s put in a massive dummy and shot straight through, with the full back following the pass that wasn’t to be. It was the same try he scored against Rochdale last week and a great way to finish.” 

Premier Sports Championship Team of the Week

1 Mick Butterfield (Doncaster)

2 Greg Johnson (Batley Bulldogs)

3 Max Wiper (Barrow Raiders)

4 Ben Heaton (Halifax)

5 Steve Maden (Leigh Centurions)

6 Anthony Nicholson (Barrow Raiders)

7 Thomas Coyle (Hunslet Hawks)

8 Tony Tonks (Halifax)

9 James Davey (Sheffield Eagles)

10 Mark Castle (Doncaster)

11 James Lockwood (Featherstone Rovers)

12 John Davies (Batley Bulldogs)

13 Brendan Rawlins (Keighley Cougars)

Premier Sports Championship One Team of the Week

1 Tommy Johnson (North Wales Crusaders)

2 Curtis Cunningham (Gloucestershire All Golds)

3 Leon Brennan (North Wales Crusaders)

4 Danny Davies (Rochdale Hornets)

5 Rob Massam (North Wales Crusaders)

6 Lewis Palfrey (Oldham)

7 Dylan Skee (London Skolars)

8 Stephen Welton (Gateshead Thunder)

9 Jamaine Wray (London Skolars)

10 Simon Stephens (North Wales Crusaders)

11 Toby Adamson (North Wales Crusaders)

12 Danny Langtree (Oldham)

13 Jono Smith (North Wales Crusaders)

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.