2013 Super League Man of Steel shortlist revealed

Huddersfield half-back Danny Brough, Wigan loose forward Sean O’Loughlin and Leeds prop Jamie Peacock have been shortlisted for the 2013 Man of Steel award.

Peacock can become only the fourth player ever to win a second Man of Steel award, having claimed the title back in 2003 when with Bradford.

Brough, who helped lead the Giants to the league leaders shield, topped the goalkicking charts, while O’Loughlin marked another fine season with a place in the Super League Dream Team for the third successive year.

The winner will be named at a gala dinner at Old Trafford cricket ground on Monday September 30.

The three nominees for the Super League Young Player of the Year are Hull centre Ben Crooks, London winger Kieran Dixon and Catalan full back Morgan Escare.

Crooks, 20, has slipped seamlessly into the Hull FC first team this season, appearing at Wembley in the Tetley’s Challenge Cup final and being selected in the 2013 Dream Team. Dixon, 21, scored 21 tries in 24 appearances for London Broncos this year, whilst Escare, 21, scored 15 tries from full-back in 2013.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.