Draw made for 2018 Commonwealth Championships

James Gordon

The draw has been made for the 2018 Commonwealth Championships, due to take place at Moreton Bay in Queensland on February 23-24.

The Nines competition is officially endorsed by the Commonwealth Games Federation and is classed as an exhibition sport.
Men’s Tournament
Pool A: Australia, Fiji, Scotland, Wales
Pool B: England, Papua New Guinea, Samoa, Tonga

Women’s Tournament
Pool A: Australia, Fiji, Samoa
Pool B: Canada, Cook Islands, Tonga

This tournament takes place exactly 22 years after the first ever Nines competition, the Super League World Nines, held in Fiji on 22-24 February 1996, a competition that also saw the debut of the video referee in rugby league, only the second team sport in the world (after cricket) to use such technology.

Wales’ tournament coach Shane Eccles said: “The announcement of the tournament groups adds to the growing anticipation for the whole competition.

“As a squad we are relishing the opportunity to pit ourselves against three nations with such long and strong rugby league history.

“We now know what faces us and this will help with our preparation for the competition.”