Adelaide to host State of Origin opener in 2020

Drew Darbyshire

The opening game of the 2020 State of Origin series will be played at the Adelaide Oval.

The NRL have announced the dates for the 2020 Origin series. The series will get underway in Adelaide on Wednesday, June 3.

Game two will take place in New South Wales’ Sydney on Sunday, June 21, with the final match coming in Queensland’s Brisbane on Wednesday, July 8.

Australian Rugby League Commission chairman, Peter Beattie, said: “State of Origin has been an enormous success in Melbourne and Perth in recent years, and we have no doubt that the opening game of the series next year at Adelaide Oval will be an incredible spectacle.

“Origin is a wonderful showpiece for the game and this will allow us to share it with an important new market, bringing new fans closer to the game.

“The support of the South Australian Government, as well as the South Australian Tourism Commission, has been fantastic through the process and we all look forward to returning in June next year for what will be an incredible series-opener.

“This year’s series provided us some wonderful entertainment and no doubt next year’s will bring more brilliant feats and incredible storylines.”

Watch NRL and live stream every NRL game to keep up with how the Burgess boys, John Bateman, Ryan Sutton, Elliott Whitehead, James Graham and all the others are getting on Down Under.

More on site

Nathan Brown to leave Newcastle Knights at end of season

North Queensland Cowboys veteran Matt Scott suffers stroke

Red Star Belgrade apply for 2020 Challenge Cup

Salford confirm Dan Sarginson signing

Batley “don’t know anymore” about Archie Bruce’s death