World Club Series fixtures confirmed

Super League Grand Finalists Wigan and Leeds, plus St Helens have been confirmed as the three clubs who will take on the NRL‘s best in the 2016 World Club Series.

NRL champions North Queensland Cowboys, Grand Final runners-up Brisbane Broncos and minor premiers will provide the Australian opposition.

As Leeds have claimed two of the Super League qualification spots by winning the League Leaders’ Shield and the Challenge Cup, St Helens have been invited to participate.

This is due to Saints reaching both the Challenge Cup semi-final and the Super League play-off semi-final, as well as their strong history in the World Club events.

Saints kick off the action by hosting the Roosters at Langtree Park on Friday February 19. The second game takes place on Saturday February 20, with the Super League Grand Final runners-up hosting Brisbane.

The series concludes on Sunday February 21, when the Super League champions host North Queensland to determine just who is the world champion club of rugby league.

Super League General Manager Blake Solly said; “The 2015 World Club Series delivered everything we had hoped for and more, but I believe that the 2016 Series can go one step further providing even more enthralling and exciting entertainment with bigger crowds and increased interest around the world.

“It’s fantastic that we can confirm the six clubs who will take part in the World Club Series and welcoming 2015’s best NRL clubs will add further excitement and credibility to the Series.

“The NRL have just experienced a wonderful finals series, and our clubs can’t wait to test their opponents next February. I strongly believe that every rugby league fan and sports fan will be looking forward to the competition.

“Once again not only will the World Club Series pitch club against club but Super League against NRL in what is sure to be a thrilling weekend of sport and entertainment.”

Andrew Hill, the NRL’s General Manager League Integration and Development was pleased that the three champion clubs from the NRL were taking part.

““It is testament to the standing of the World Club Series that the three best teams from the 2015 NRL season will contest it,” he said.

“Last season was a great start to the expanded series but in 2016 we will have the Premiers, and Runners-Up and the Minor Premiers, meaning next year’s tournament will truly be for the best of the best.”

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.