Wolves introduce player heritage numbers


Warrington Wolves have announced player heritage numbers which will record each player’s place within the club’s history.

Alongside squad numbers which will still be printed on the back of a player’s shirt, the player’s heritage number will be embroidered above the club badge.

The numbers represent every single player who has played for the club since 1895, the year rugby league was created at the George Hotel in Huddersfield. Numbers have been awarded in chronological order, with the first 15 players who played for the club as a rugby league team being given the heritage numbers 1-15. 

Club historians have recorded close to 1,110 players who have worn the primrose and blue of Warrington, with the last debutant Trent Waterhouse being the 1,098th player to play for the club. Waterhouse will therefore wear the number 1,098 on future Warrington shirts.

Lee Briers is the longest serving member of the Wolves current squad, having joined the club in 1997, his heritage number is 955. Chris Hill is yet to receive a number as he is yet to make his Wolves first team debut.

The club’s first star player Jackie Fish, who first played in 1898, is number 65. World record try scorer Brian Bevan holds the number 470. 

The heritage number concept is not an original idea, as many international sides from all sports use the same system. The RFL introduced the numbers to the national shirts after the England Cricket Board did the same to their Test shirts. 

Warrington believe they are the first rugby league club in the world to introduce heritage numbers, and credit the research to club heritage officer Neil Dowson. 


Current player Heritage Numbers 

Brett Hodgson – 1094

Chris Riley – 1061 

Chris Bridge – 1060

Ryan Atkins – 1089

Joel Monaghan – 1095

Lee Briers – 955

Richie Myler – 1090

Adrian Morley – 1074

Michael Monaghan – 1081

Garreth Carvell – 1084

Trent Waterhouse – 1098

Ben Westwood – 1033

Ben Harrison – 1070

Mickey Higham – 1085

Simon Grix – 1069

Paul Wood – 999

Mike Cooper – 1068

Matty Blythe – 1077

Stefan Ratchford – 1097

Chris Hill – No number

Tyrone McCarthy – 1087

Rhys Williams – 1092

Rhys Evans – 1093

Gareth O’Brien – 1096

David Solomona – 1091


Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.