Wigan v Salford: Ken Sio misses out & Wigan remain unchanged

Ken Sio Salford

Salford winger Ken Sio has not been named in Paul Rowely’s Salford squad for their Challenge Cup tie against Wigan on Friday.

Sio, 31, left the field during the club’s 26-12 victory over Leeds at the AJ Bell Stadium. Rhinos forward Zane Tetevano was shown a yellow card for the dangerous tackle.

He has scored eight tries so far this season, joint-highest alongside Tommy Makinson and Josh Charnley.

Shane Wright also misses out for Salford alongside Ken Sio. The 26-year-old made the move during the off-season and has been ever-present for the Red Devils in the 2022 Super League season. The back-rower will miss their Challenge Cup sixth round tie at the DW Stadium.

James Greenwood and Matt Costello are welcomed returns to the squad. The pair missed out on their recent win.

Wigan remain unchanged

Matt Peet has named an unchanged squad following their victory over Castleford on Thursday night.

Fans will have to wait a little longer to see the return of Bevan French. Head coach Peet confirmed that the Australian and Iain Thornley are working towards their recovery but will not feature.

The Wigan boss had previously hinted that the full-back could have made his first appearance in the club’s Challenge Cup journey.

Thornley, 30, sustained an injury in the opening round against Hull KR and has been sidelined since.

“Bevan’s not quite ready,” said Peet. 

“Same with Iain (Thornley). They are both working hard. 

“They are close. They’re training hard and both getting back on the field with the team. 

“Bevan won’t be this week.”

Jake Bibby is set to return having missed the clash with the Tigers. Brad Singleton and Kaide Ellis remain unavailable through suspension.

The clash will be broadcast live on Premier Sports on Friday night.

Wigan: Bibby, Hardaker, Marshall, Cust, Leuluai, Powell, Mago, Isa, Farrell, Bateman, Smithies, Partington, Havard, Byrne, Pearce-Paul, Shorrocks, Field, Miski, Halsall, O’Neill.

Salford: Brierley, Lafai, Burgess, Croft, Sneyd, Akauola, Ackers, Burke, Greenwood, Taylor, Addy, Vuniyayawa, Lannon, Atkin, Ormondroyd, Wells, Johnson, Williams, Costello, Cross, Gerrard.

St Helens: Regan Grace to be named in squad for first time of 2022

PLAYFree Fantasy Rugby League

About Josh McAllister 1313 Articles
Journalist. Joined the Love Rugby League team full time at the start of 2022 having been a freelance reporter for several years. Previously media manager for Swinton and Rochdale.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.